Page 1 of 1

Howtek D4000 "Cannot send..

Posted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 10:21 pm
by Farmer
Hello,
I'm looking into buying Silverfast Ai for my Howtek D4000. But the Demo-version I downloaded to test it's performance doesn't really work. The SF Launcher starts the main application without any problems, but when I try to get a prescan the following error is displayed:

An error occurred at the start of scanning process.
Cannot send Command "Set Window".

When enabling the autofocus it just says "cannot focus" instead.

The scanner is definately ok, it works well with the Trident software. I'm running Windows XP on a 32bit Dual Athlon PC, 2x1,53GHz 1GB RAM and some 70GB HDD space. The SCSI Interface card is an Adaptec 2940, most recent ASPI drivers are installed.
It doesn't make a difference if I install the Adaptec ASPI or the one supplied with SilverFast (re-installed the OS after trying the Adaptec's).

Thanks in advance
Clemens Bauer

Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 5:13 pm
by Farmer
I've got the problem solved.
The reason for the error was the old Firmware. After installing the current version, 535, the scanner is recognized and works well. Except some vertical banding but that's no big problem for Photoshop.

Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2007 8:08 am
by LSI_Heidorn
Dear Farmer,
the banding issue is removed in the latest versions on the web...


Greetings,


Nils Heidorn, R & D, LaserSoft Imaging

Re: Howtek D4000 "Cannot send..

Posted: Thu May 14, 2015 8:32 pm
by mcfactor
Hi,

I am having the same problem but I cannot figure out how to update the firmware. Can you please tell me how you updated the howtek firmware?

Thanks!