Page 1 of 1

SilverFast on OSX2.2

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2002 5:35 pm
by LSI_Support
LSI currently cannot give a guarranty for OSX 10.2.2 compatibility.

All software test which concluded in SilverFast's OSX Jaguar approval refer to the Jaguar OSX 10.2.1!!

Posted: Mon Dec 02, 2002 6:19 am
by sarni
Oh great. Maybe you should prominently display your disclaimer on the ORDER page so people with jaguar don't get ripped off.

Posted: Tue Jan 28, 2003 1:00 pm
by petemac
It works fine sarni, I think Silverfast are just backing themselves up, it's not their fault Apple keep updating the OS every other month.

I've used the Silverfast 6 on OSX.2.2/OSX.2.3 with no problems.

OS 10.2.3

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2003 1:07 am
by tmoore
I am running OS 10.2.3. AI 6 isn't working for me connected to a Microtek 8700 scanner. I have been able to scan a wallet size image at 300dpi a couple of times. If I change the resolution or size factor, no dice. The progress bar goes to 100% and freezes. The scan is not written to file. This is using the standalone app. Nothing works using the Photoshop 7 plugin.

Any clues?

t

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2003 10:49 am
by petemac
Does the Microtek software (Scanwizard) work ok?
Try deleting Photoshop 7 and Silverfast 6 Ai, then try a fresh install starting with P/S 7.

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2003 3:09 pm
by tmoore
Yes, the Mircrotek Software works alone and with Photoshop.

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2003 3:24 pm
by petemac
In the past if you were going to install Scanwizard and Silverfast then S/Wiz would have to be installed before S/fast because it can cause communication problems the other way around, is this the way you introduced the software?

Have you tried the above suggestion of installing fresh copies of P/S 7 and S/fast 6 Ai also?

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2003 3:45 pm
by tmoore
I installed Silverfast first, then Scanwizard. I installed Scanwizard because I could not get Silverfast to work properly. I will try a reinstall of everything without Scanwizard.

t

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2003 9:44 pm
by tmoore
I deleted all remants of Ai6 and Scanwizard and reinstall both starting with Scanwizard. I could not get the standalone SF app to write to file, but the photoshop 7 plugin worked, so I will keep my fingers crossed.

t

Software that is not fully tested should be free beta!

Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2003 3:49 pm
by petermaz
:x Run with the Jaguar 10.2.4

SF Ai crash on scan under OSX 10.2.5

Posted: Thu Apr 17, 2003 12:53 am
by Yoda
I just installed SF6 Ai under 10.2.5 and it works fine both as a standlone app and from within Photoshop 7, WITH ONE EXCEPTION when using it standalone:

Having calibrated to the IT8 targets, if I then go into "Options/CMS/Color Management/Input->Internal" and select "Calibration", and then do a SCAN to disc, it 'unexpectedly quits' just as it's about to start the scan. (Prescans are okay).

Anytbody else get this?

Posted: Fri May 16, 2003 7:30 am
by nsnape
I'm running on Jaguar 10.2.6 with absolutely no technical problems. Sometimes deep sleep and the SCSI card can have problems yet those are issues between port comm and MacOsX. Note: the scanner must be turned on before booting (not just logout/in) and thereafter it will be seen , even after sleep. Of course the scanner is best left alone on the chain and not daisy chained to reduce possible conflicts.

Posted: Fri Aug 29, 2003 4:14 pm
by LeRoy
Of course this begs the big question: What about OSX 10.3 (Panther)? Is LSI ready for it?