Page 1 of 1

RPS 7200 Multi Exposure?

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 10:14 pm
by asto999
I am wondering when Multi Exposure will be supported for RPS 7200. The hardware does allow multi exposure features. I upgraded to 6.5 just to obtain this special feature (and: no, the feature list did NOT give any hints that ME was NOT supported with the far most scanners at that time).

Any detailed information will be appreciated.


:wink:

Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 2:08 pm
by LSI_Noack
Dear asto999

this scanner had originally been tested concerning the Multi-Exposure feature when it had been introduced in SilverFast 6.5.
Unfortunately though, tests didn't went to well. However, we might restage tests at a later time, because we've got more experience with the feature now and might be able to overcome the obstacles faced then.
As always, updated information will be displayed on the scanner's infopage:
https://www.silverfast.com/product/Reflecta/508/en.html
Thank you for your interest in LaserSoft Imaging's software products :)

Best regards
Sonny Noack
- Manager Technical Support, LaserSoft Imaging AG -

Re: RPS 7200 Multi Exposure?

Posted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 5:51 pm
by asto999
Up to now, there's no ME support for the RPS7200.
Has Lasersoft dropped this scanner from it's development line? This scanner is still being sold, so it might be a good idea to support it fully - as hardware does provide ME capabilities.

Re: RPS 7200 Multi Exposure?

Posted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 4:29 pm
by asto999
Still no ME support for that scanner?

I suggest that you support ME function of RPS 7200 and leave it to the user's discretion if he thinks it worthwile to use or not.
Actually, the scanner does provide technical preconditions required for ME, and the term "tests didn't go well" does not satisfy at all.

Thank you.

Re: RPS 7200 Multi Exposure?

Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 10:17 pm
by skydiversp
actually I am a new user of this machine, and I've withdrawn the update from the 'Standard' version to the 'studio' version. Because I just found this machine doesn't support ME by the hardware. It's so disappointing!!!

Re: RPS 7200 Multi Exposure?

Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 5:24 pm
by asto999
skydiversp wrote:actually I am a new user of this machine, and I've withdrawn the update from the 'Standard' version to the 'studio' version. Because I just found this machine doesn't support ME by the hardware. It's so disappointing!!!
As far as I understand the topic, the RPS 7200 actually DOES support the ME feature - but it has not been implemented in the Silverfast software als Lasersoft found that the tests didn't go too well.

Re: RPS 7200 Multi Exposure?

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 4:16 pm
by LSI_Luebker
Dear Customer,

we will test the RPS 7200 again as we made some major improvements to Multi-Exposure so that it might work.
Please check back on our website as we will note it on the scanner page.

Re: RPS 7200 Multi Exposure?

Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 9:41 am
by asto999
Thanks for your further efforts.

Re: RPS 7200 Multi Exposure?

Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 4:47 pm
by LSI_Ketelhohn
you are welcome.
Our developers are currently trying to find a way to use MultiExposure.
Unfortunately we can not give an exact release date.

kind regards
Arne Ketelhohn

Re: RPS 7200 Multi Exposure?

Posted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 2:50 pm
by asto999
I just got a message that the new release of Silverfast 6.6 now supports Multi Exposure with the Reflecta RPS 7200.

Unfortunately, states the message, my serial number is not eligible for the ME feature. But I am invited to buy a further Upgrade.

Sorry. I am puzzled.

I bought the Upgrade to 6.5 BECAUSE the ME-feature was announced in bold and coloured headlines (only in small, merely illegible characters there was a hidden hint that some scanners are not supported with this).

So I bought the 6.5 version just because it boasted ME capabilities, only to find that I was trapped as the RPS 7200 was not supported, contrary to the bold commercials and announciations.

And now I am invited to buy the software another time, once more.

I am sorry, but once again product policy of Lasersoft emerges to be not exactly what one could call customer friendly.

Actually, I am angry. I feel spoofed and ripped off.

Kind regards.

Re: RPS 7200 Multi Exposure?

Posted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:40 pm
by LSI_Morales
Dear asto999,

If you carefully take a look at our online offers or our online store, you will realize that some features are sold as extra modules to improve the performance of your scanner.
This is true for all different scanners that support that given feature (it is not just for your scanner model).

Multi-Exposure is one of those features where our company has put a lot of resources and efforts to create and improve

I do not believe it is stated anywhere that you would obtain such features for free. Is it?

However, as a SilverFast user you can use your license to obtain a discount on our online store on any upgrade you purchase.

Before you decide to purchase this, you might decide to test the feature. To do this you have to deactivate the serial number to operate the program in demo version. To do this, you have to open the service dialogue using the button for that purpose on the launcher (see picture)

ServiceDialoguebutton.jpg
Press that little button to open the service dialogue
ServiceDialoguebutton.jpg (51.86 KiB) Viewed 4856 times


And then press the button "Reset Serial Number"

Reset_serial.jpg
Reset the serial number to leave SilverFast operate in Demo mode
Reset_serial.jpg (39.7 KiB) Viewed 4856 times


IMPORTANT! Note that afterwards you will have to re-serialize SilverFast, if your version was originally a CD version (bundled or not) you have to close SilverFast then insert the original CD in the computer drive (do not re-install), then proceed to open SilverFast again and serialize the program.

If you like the outcomes using the demo version and believe you want to have the feature, you might check our online store for further details.