16 Bit HDR Greyscale

All about SilverFast HDR and HiRepp (48bit HDR processing)

photogreen
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2002 10:54 pm
Location: Los Angeles

16 Bit HDR Greyscale

Postby photogreen » Fri Sep 05, 2003 8:18 pm

When I'm in Ai with a pre-scan and I have 16 Bit HDR Greyscale picked....how come I can't see any changes done to the image???
Should I be just scanning a RAW image and bring right into HDR,,,but I thought it was better to do any alterations before the final scan. I'm confused with the proper scanning rules??? :-? :-? :-?
MacPro Quad Core 2.8 Ghz / 6gb RAM / OS 10.5.2

degrub
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Texas

Postby degrub » Sat Sep 06, 2003 12:43 am

You can work either way. If you are using high bit scanning, it doesn't matter. If you are using an 8 bit scanner it may make a difference depending on how good the original is and how large of change you make.

If you have 16 bit HDR grayscale selected, then you are outputting for HDR and you will not be able to make corrections at the scan time. You should pick grayscale NOT for HDR if you want to make corrections at the scan time.

Frank


Return to “HDR (48bit HDR processing)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest