Raw Scans

All about SilverFast HDR and HiRepp (48bit HDR processing)

MJunak
Visitor
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2002 11:20 pm

Raw Scans

Postby MJunak » Sat Dec 14, 2002 10:18 am

When I scan using the 48bit HDR setting if I choose ICE or SRD will a raw scan be produced with ICE or SDR applied?

ilyons
SilverFast Expert
SilverFast Expert
Posts: 408
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2001 1:00 am
Contact:

Postby ilyons » Sun Dec 15, 2002 12:50 am

raw scan means raw scan - there will be no ICE or any other filter applied to the original scan. The limit of image processing is applying a gamma curve and even then you must activate the feature.

briank
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 9:01 pm

Re: Raw Scans

Postby briank » Mon Feb 21, 2011 7:43 pm

Much to my chagrin, I have learned from trial and error (and seemingly confirmed by Mr. Lyons' response) that even though it appears that the ICE button goes "on" in the Lasersoft software for my Nikon 5000 when in 48bit HDR processing mode, ICE is in fact being disabled (or least the infrared channel is not being captured). Consequently, the scratches and other defects that ICE would otherwise likely remove are still present when I open up my image in HDR studio. Given the benefits of hardware-based scratch removal (which iSRD is surely a testament to), I am having to avoid using the "raw" scan functionality that I thought I was going to get by using HDR 48 bit processing and HDR studio. So . . . is LaserSoft finally going to deliver the long discussed upgrade to its MS Windows-based software for Nikon scanners to incorporate iSRD?

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Raw Scans

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Tue Feb 22, 2011 4:08 pm

Dear briank,

The ICE function also is available for 48bit scans.
To make sure no error has sneaked into our latest version our testcenter just verified that everything works as it should.
The following image shows a comparison of a ICE and a no-ICE scan:
comparison_noICE-vs-ICEstd_LS5000_SFAi-HDRmode_4000dpi.jpg
comparison_noICE-vs-ICEstd_LS5000_SFAi-HDRmode_4000dpi.jpg (580.25 KiB) Viewed 2600 times



Please make sure that you really have ICE activated.
If you accidentally activated the SRD function the settings first have to be configured correctly.
So that could result in an uncorrected scan.

kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn

briank
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 9:01 pm

Re: Raw Scans

Postby briank » Wed Feb 23, 2011 6:51 am

OK. I am not sure where the problem lies, but "user error" is certainly the most logical explanation. I will give it another try Mr. Ketelhohn.

briank
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 9:01 pm

Re: Raw Scans

Postby briank » Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:35 am

You were correct Mr. Ketelhohn. Apparently I just need to be more careful to double check that I have not accidentally turned off ICE before pushing "scan." Something I was doing (and it may have been playing around with SRD) may have been causing that to occur.


Return to “HDR (48bit HDR processing)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest