Reflective scans fine, transparencies not so good...

General topics about imaging

markc
Visitor
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 1:33 pm

Reflective scans fine, transparencies not so good...

Postby markc » Mon Mar 14, 2005 1:46 pm

Can anyone advise please.

I have no problem scanning anything reflective. My problem is with transparencies: Sometimes they scan, other times not. I have tried scanning rgb then cmy, I have tried saving as tiffs then jpgs with the result that sometimes it works but mostly not.
I have checked all my connections and have read the manuals.

I am using a G4 dualprocessor, OSX.3.3 and SF6 and a Umax Powerlook 1120.

If anyone can advise, I would be very happy indeed.

Regards

markc

User avatar
LSI_Bruhn
SilverFast Expert
SilverFast Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2003 7:29 pm
Location: Kiel
Contact:

Postby LSI_Bruhn » Tue Mar 15, 2005 9:07 am

Dear Mark,

did you check your TPU ?

Or is the output the problem, btw. the quality of the pictures.

kind regards
Sascha Bruhn

LaserSoft Imaging AG
Luisenweg 6-8
24105 Kiel

markc
Visitor
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 1:33 pm

Postby markc » Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:35 pm

Hello Sascha

Yes, checked the TPU which is ok. Still cannot figure out why it is happening so I have reloaded the software and so far, it seems to be fine.

Many thanks for your reply.

Kind regards

Mark

User avatar
LSI_Bruhn
SilverFast Expert
SilverFast Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2003 7:29 pm
Location: Kiel
Contact:

Postby LSI_Bruhn » Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:39 pm

Dear Markc,

thanks for the reply and happy scanning ! :D

kind regards
Sascha Bruhn

LaserSoft Imaging AG
Luisenweg 6-8
24105 Kiel

markc
Visitor
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 1:33 pm

Postby markc » Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:00 pm

Hello Sascha

I think we have worked this out...

Say I am scanning a batch of 35mm transparencies, if the first one happens to be portrait then all other portraits are fine but any landscape trannies error and vise versa.
The solution is to scan them all the same way...

Strange but true.

Many thanks again

Mark

User avatar
LSI_Bruhn
SilverFast Expert
SilverFast Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2003 7:29 pm
Location: Kiel
Contact:

Postby LSI_Bruhn » Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:05 pm

Dear Markc,

I would really like to see some pics and if possible the settings of them to get closer to what you are talking about. If you like send them to our support at silverfast.com.

So I can take care of this issue

kind regards
Sascha Bruhn

LaserSoft Imaging AG
Luisenweg 6-8
24105 Kiel

markc
Visitor
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 1:33 pm

Postby markc » Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:15 pm

Hello Sascha

I was batch scanning positive 35mm transparencies at 72dpi and 400% for layout purposes.

After prescanning, I can only duplicate a frame of the same size and format i.e. if my frame is portrait in format. If I happen to make the next duplicate frame a landscape format then the scan errors and I get a nice purple and green pattern!
All i need to do is make sure the whole batch is done the same format, then just rotate as necessary in Photoshop.

Now I have figured it out, it is not a problem and I am very happy with the quality of the Silverfast Ai software.

Hope this is understandable.

Kind regards

Mark

User avatar
LSI_Bruhn
SilverFast Expert
SilverFast Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2003 7:29 pm
Location: Kiel
Contact:

Postby LSI_Bruhn » Fri Apr 15, 2005 8:50 am

Dear Mark,

thanks for your feedback - and enjoy your scanning.

kind regards
Sascha Bruhn

LaserSoft Imaging AG
Luisenweg 6-8
24105 Kiel


Return to “Imaging in general”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest