Page 1 of 1

Freezes w/ SA-21 Adaptor

Posted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 10:08 pm
by jmahoney
I'm familiar with SilverFast software from using it for my Epson flatbed scanners for years. I just bought Silverfast Ai Studio for my Nikon Coolscan 5000 and was up and running fairly quickly with one big exception. I an scanning negs using the SA-21 strip film adaptor. I am not used to using this as prior to this I've always scanned slides. I found the piece in the manual about having the scanner running and film loaded. I didn't find anything about what to do after they are loaded. The problem is I can't seem to find a way to switch between strips of negatives gracefully.

If I try to use the eject button in SilverFast eject a set of negs and go to load a new strip of negatives, SilverFast and SilverFast Launcher both freeze up and I must force quit them. It often takes several times before SilverFast Ai actually force quits. I have only found one way to load a new set of negatives:

1) Quit SilverFast Ai.
2) Quit SilverFast Launcher.
3) Power down the scanner and power it up. This ejects the loaded strip of negatives.
4) Insert new negatives.
5) Launch SilverFast Universal Launcher.
6) Launch SilverFast.

The seems a little shall we say inelegant for software like SilverFast. Am I missing something here or is this what needs to be done?

A little info about my system: Mac Pro early 2008 8 core 2.8GHz, Mac OSX 10.5.6, 16GB RAM.

Thanks in advance,
Jim Mahoney

Re: Freezes w/ SA-21 Adaptor

Posted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:53 am
by LSI_Heidorn
Dear Mr. Mahoney,

we have found & fixed that bug, may re-download the 660r4c from the Web, it has been recompiled, so the Date will show that it is from the 23'rd of December.
The Bug should *not* occur with this version anymore !

best regards,

Nils Heidorn

Re: Freezes w/ SA-21 Adaptor

Posted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 3:00 pm
by jmahoney
Thank you so much for the quick fix. While I might have expected you to say: "It's a bug" in this short amount of time I never would have expected a fix too.

I can confirm that the "Undocumented Feature" has been removed and Ejecting & Inserting strips of negatives is working flawlessly. It didn't seem like what I had to do before was the way you would have designed it. I have a lot of negs to scan during some free time during the holidays and this will make the process go that much faster.

Thanks again.

Jim Mahoney