Scanning single pictures from a stripe withou prescan

General topics about SilverFast

Moderator: LSI_Moeller


willi
Visitor
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 11:08 pm
Scanner: Reflecta RPS 7200
SilverFast Product: Ai

Scanning single pictures from a stripe withou prescan

Postby willi » Sun Jun 13, 2010 5:10 pm

Hi all,

after a troublesome time with lots of issues -- including sending the device back due to a hardware failure -- i finally have a procedure in place where i an batch scan negatives efficiently and in high quality. So i am almost lucky (i will post a howto once i'm done with all my jobs). However, one issue remains. With some material the picture frame is not recognized correctly which leads to pictures with a black bar in the middle. The reason mostly that the picture is to wide in combination with non visible image borders.
In general this is not so much a problem since it occurs not so often. However, when it occurs i have to scan those pictures manually. Scanning pictures manually from a stripe is however a nightmare. There are two issues:

1. When i move the unit to, lets say picture three of the stripe and then do a scan, the unit moves the stripe always to picture one and scans the first one. So i have to cut the stripe, put the picture in a single frame and scan it that way.

Is there a way to scan picture number three from a stripe without doing a complete prescan of the stripe? Cyberview can do this perfectly, but i want to use Silverfast due to the better scan results.

2. When scanning single images i always have to do a prescan. The software goes to single picture mode and applies some settings from the last pre-scan which gives usually horrible results. After a prescan the results are fine.

Is there any way to scan a single picture without applying prescan measures? I would like to see the same result from a single scan and a scan in batch mode which is currently not possible.

Any help is appreciated.

Willi

LSI_Luebker
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master
Posts: 591
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 9:43 am

Re: Scanning single pictures from a stripe withou prescan

Postby LSI_Luebker » Tue Jun 15, 2010 4:17 pm

willi wrote:Hi all,

after a troublesome time with lots of issues -- including sending the device back due to a hardware failure -- i finally have a procedure in place where i an batch scan negatives efficiently and in high quality. So i am almost lucky (i will post a howto once i'm done with all my jobs). However, one issue remains. With some material the picture frame is not recognized correctly which leads to pictures with a black bar in the middle. The reason mostly that the picture is to wide in combination with non visible image borders.
In general this is not so much a problem since it occurs not so often. However, when it occurs i have to scan those pictures manually. Scanning pictures manually from a stripe is however a nightmare. There are two issues:

1. When i move the unit to, lets say picture three of the stripe and then do a scan, the unit moves the stripe always to picture one and scans the first one. So i have to cut the stripe, put the picture in a single frame and scan it that way.

Is there a way to scan picture number three from a stripe without doing a complete prescan of the stripe? Cyberview can do this perfectly, but i want to use Silverfast due to the better scan results.


just go to the filmstrip overview select the picture you want to scan and click ok now you will get a prescan of the picture you just selected.

willi wrote:2. When scanning single images i always have to do a prescan. The software goes to single picture mode and applies some settings from the last pre-scan which gives usually horrible results. After a prescan the results are fine.

Is there any way to scan a single picture without applying prescan measures? I would like to see the same result from a single scan and a scan in batch mode which is currently not possible.

Any help is appreciated.

Willi


You can do a Scan without prescan when you straight hit the scan button but pleae note that you are scanning blind than.
best regards,

Thomas Luebker,
LaserSoft Imaging AG


Return to “About SilverFast”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest