Scans are too dark


andifor
Visitor
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 5:03 pm
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio
SilverFast Version: 6.6

Scans are too dark

Postby andifor » Mon Oct 18, 2010 5:31 pm

Hi

Just spent my first weekend with a Reflecta DigitDia 5000 and SilverFast Ai Studio. Result so far: the scans a way to dark!

So two questions:
- is there some (hidden) feature to brighten up the images?
- there is a auto correction function, that works in the correct direction (changes in histogram and gradation curves). I'd like the changes in the histogram, but don't need the changes in the gradation curves, is it possible to deactivate the gradation changes but keep the histogram changes for the batch mode?

I'd prefer to brighten up the image somehow, but it'd be ok, to have the histogram changed.

Thanks for any hint,
andifor

LSI_Morales
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master
Posts: 1430
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:33 am

Re: Scans are to dark

Postby LSI_Morales » Tue Oct 19, 2010 9:18 am

Hi there

andifor wrote:Result so far: the scans a way to dark!


Are you scanning in 48 bit HDR or 64 bit HDRi? If you are, you are getting raw files with a linear gamma gradation.

andifor wrote:- is there some (hidden) feature to brighten up the images?


Well, there are many ways to brighten up the images, you can use the histogram, curves, or the brightness slider.

andifor wrote:there is a auto correction function, that works in the correct direction (changes in histogram and gradation curves). I'd like the changes in the histogram, but don't need the changes in the gradation curves, is it possible to deactivate the gradation changes but keep the histogram changes for the batch mode?


It is not possible to deactivate one parameter in the automatic correction.

Cheers
Alejandro Morales

LaserSoft Imaging
Media manager, Software testing

andifor
Visitor
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 5:03 pm
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio
SilverFast Version: 6.6

Re: Scans are to dark

Postby andifor » Tue Oct 19, 2010 11:34 am

LSI_Morales wrote:Hi there

andifor wrote:Result so far: the scans a way to dark!


Are you scanning in 48 bit HDR or 64 bit HDRi? If you are, you are getting raw files with a linear gamma gradation.


I use 48 -> 24 bit, no HDR(i).

LSI_Morales wrote:
andifor wrote:- is there some (hidden) feature to brighten up the images?


Well, there are many ways to brighten up the images, you can use the histogram, curves, or the brightness slider.

andifor wrote:there is a auto correction function, that works in the correct direction (changes in histogram and gradation curves). I'd like the changes in the histogram, but don't need the changes in the gradation curves, is it possible to deactivate the gradation changes but keep the histogram changes for the batch mode?


It is not possible to deactivate one parameter in the automatic correction.


That's bad. The histogram changes are nice. But I have to disable gradation changes. So it's not usable for magazine scans. I have to check 48 or 64 bit scans and some automatic post processing, but this would include some additional steps.

Do you have plans for SW updates to support my suggestions for a batch mode?

LSI_Morales
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master
Posts: 1430
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:33 am

Re: Scans are to dark

Postby LSI_Morales » Wed Oct 20, 2010 8:15 am

Dear andifor

andifor wrote:That's bad. The histogram changes are nice. But I have to disable gradation changes. So it's not usable for magazine scans. I have to check 48 or 64 bit scans and some automatic post processing, but this would include some additional steps.


Actually any changes you perform in the histogram will be reflected in the gradation curve and the other way around, also if you make changes to the contrast or brightness slider, those changes will be reflected in the gradation curves or in the histogram. You can not make changes independently without affecting other "controls".

However you can deactivate certain parameters in the automatic correction, like color cast removal or automatic contrast. These as well as the entire program options and controls are explained in detailed on our user manual.

In short, open the options/auto panel and uncheck the options "color cast removal" as well as "auto contrast" (see pict below)

Option_auto_CCR_AContrast.jpg
Deactivate "Color cast removal" and "auto contrast"
Option_auto_CCR_AContrast.jpg (53.51 KiB) Viewed 4603 times


Cheers
Alejandro Morales

LaserSoft Imaging
Media manager, Software testing

andifor
Visitor
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 5:03 pm
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio
SilverFast Version: 6.6

Re: Scans are to dark

Postby andifor » Wed Oct 20, 2010 8:13 pm

LSI_Morales wrote:
andifor wrote:That's bad. The histogram changes are nice. But I have to disable gradation changes. So it's not usable for magazine scans. I have to check 48 or 64 bit scans and some automatic post processing, but this would include some additional steps.


Actually any changes you perform in the histogram will be reflected in the gradation curve and the other way around, also if you make changes to the contrast or brightness slider, those changes will be reflected in the gradation curves or in the histogram. You can not make changes independently without affecting other "controls".


Well, at least in the pre-scanned slides, the images look much better, if I undo the gradation changes. I have to test differences in single scans. But then, single scans are useless for the amount of slides I'd like to digitize.

BTW, Aperture does not understand the 48 or 64 bit file formats the software produces. So this isn't an option either.


LSI_Morales wrote:However you can deactivate certain parameters in the automatic correction, like color cast removal or automatic contrast. These as well as the entire program options and controls are explained in detailed on our user manual.

In short, open the options/auto panel and uncheck the options "color cast removal" as well as "auto contrast" (see pict below)


I am aware of the Auto Contrast feature, but I have to check the effect of the Color Cast Removal option. Thanks for the hint.

andifor

LSI_Morales
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master
Posts: 1430
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:33 am

Re: Scans are too dark

Postby LSI_Morales » Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:53 am

Dear andifor,

andifor wrote:Well, at least in the pre-scanned slides, the images look much better


I hope the single scans do as well

andifor wrote:BTW, Aperture does not understand the 48 or 64 bit file formats the software produces. So this isn't an option either.


Too bad.

Fortunately there is an alternative if you decide to go for the HDR or HDRi formats, it is SilverFast HDR Studio which give you the whole power of the scanning program in an image editing environment, it can not only interpret your scanner raw files but also camera raw files, and the best, you can use your serial number of SilverFast Ai to obtain a discount on our online store.

andifor wrote:I am aware of the Auto Contrast feature, but I have to check the effect of the Color Cast Removal option. Thanks for the hint.


No problem

Cheers
Alejandro Morales

LaserSoft Imaging
Media manager, Software testing


Return to “Reflecta”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest