Multi-Exposure Scans Unusable (version 6.5.0r4)

All the problems with Polaroid film scanners

Rocky
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 6:08 pm

Multi-Exposure Scans Unusable (version 6.5.0r4)

Postby Rocky » Fri Mar 23, 2007 6:29 pm

Upgraded to 6.5.0r4 Mutil-Exposure to find that all scans are hedged with extreme pixelation noise. This problem occurs in 48 Bit HDR Color and 48 Bit Color.

Has anyone here had success with Multi-Exposure and Polaroid SprintScan?

Here is an enlarged section to a 4x-ME Scan at 4000 dpi:

<img src="/img/forum/fern_4test_section2.jpg">

Rocky
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 6:08 pm

Multi-Exposure Scans Update (version 6.5.0r5)

Postby Rocky » Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:26 pm

The current release of SilverFast 6.5.0r5 for Polaroid SprintScan 120 provides the same poor quality scan under Multi-Exposure as noted in the previous post.

Evidently, no changes have been made.

It would be interesting to know if anyone has been able to successfully scan under Mutli-Scan.

Rocky

LSI_Heidorn
SilverFast Expert
SilverFast Expert
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Germany

Postby LSI_Heidorn » Mon Apr 02, 2007 8:17 am

Dear Rocky,

obviously we tested the SS120 after enabling MultiExposure, so YES there have been successful MEX Scans...

There have been changes in the r5 that stabilized MEX Scans for other Users ( other brands ) as well, but as it did not help your Problem, let me ask a few questions:

-1- Did you try out other slides ?! Maybe there is some ( unknown to us ) specialty about your current slide that leads to this failure...

-2- Could you supply your Firmware revision ? The Polaroid ( and its brother from Microtek ) are known to have drastically changed over the Firmware Versions. Of course we focussed on the latest Version(s).

Thank you and be assured that MEX can work on your scanner, we just have to narrow down what is happening on your side...


Greetings:

Nils Heidorn, R & D, LaserSoft Imaging AG

Rocky
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 6:08 pm

MEX Failure

Postby Rocky » Mon Apr 02, 2007 1:29 pm

Dear Nils Heidorn,

Thank you for your reply. In answer to your quesitons:

1) Yes, I have attempted MEX scans with several transparencies (35mm and 2 1/4 x 2 1/4) via the film holder and glass holder.

2) I have been using firmware version 1.33, which is the last version released by Polaroid.

I truly hope that this issue can be resolved soon.

Best regards,

Rocky

LSI_Heidorn
SilverFast Expert
SilverFast Expert
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Germany

Postby LSI_Heidorn » Mon Apr 02, 2007 1:40 pm

Dear Rocky,

i have a feeling that it might is closely related to the Firmware, as many ( if not most ) Polaroid Users have upgraded their Scanners to ArtixScan ( Microtek ) Firmware wich fixes several glitches.
We did so too, but i hope our testing center can "downgrade" one of our Polaroids to verify that.

Meanwhile in the other thread one user ordered his FW update from Microtek, lets see if that does the trick for him...

Greetings:

Nils Heidorn, R & D, LaserSoft Imaging AG

Rocky
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 6:08 pm

MEX Failure

Postby Rocky » Mon Apr 02, 2007 5:25 pm

Dear Nils Heidorn,

I have searched the forum for the person mentioned who has ordered his FW update from Microtek without success. Since I have been attempting to make contact with Microtek myself, it would be most useful to watch this thread. So far I have not received a response from Microtek. Can you please direct me to this thread or provide information that may expedite an EEPROM Chip purchase through Microtek. I have already attempted contact via their Tech Support email at support@microtek.de.

On another note, since users of the ArtixScan 120 (Firmware v1.7) have been experiencing an identical problem with MEX as is reported in this thread, and that both scanners are the same unit aside from the EEPROM Chip, is it fair to assume that this issue is more than a firmware problem?

Best regards,

Rocky

PS: I first made contact with pcsupport2@microtek.com in the United States. This is their response in reference to the discussed EEPROM Chip: "This chip is NOT replaceable. We do not support Polaroid Sprintscan units."

LSI_Heidorn
SilverFast Expert
SilverFast Expert
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Germany

Postby LSI_Heidorn » Wed Apr 04, 2007 4:35 pm

Dear Rocky,

i found this thread about a User saying that he did not get support my Microtek US but from the German branch !:


microtek-eeprom-in-polaroid-software-issue-t4029.html


You may want to ask him or my colleague Soenke Noack how to go about it.

For the technical issues, i will reply in the other Microtek Artixscan 120tf thread, lets continue there :-)


Greetings:

Nils Heidorn, R & D, LaserSoft Imaging AG

Rocky
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 6:08 pm

Postby Rocky » Wed Apr 04, 2007 5:34 pm

Dear Nils Heidorn,

Thank you for the link regarding the purchase of the EEPROM Chip Update. Yesterday I received an email from Melek at Umax.de requesting an order be sent to make purchase of this chip. After a quick reply, I am now waiting for an invoice, and, thus, shipment of the chip. Hopefully, this will happen very soon.

As you requested, I will address all further comments about the SS120 Multi-Exposure scan issues in the Microtek Artixscan 120tf (120tf and Multi-Exposure) thread.

Best regards,

Rocky


Return to “Polaroid”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest