Microtek Artixscan 120tf firmware on Polaroid 120?

All the problems with Polaroid film scanners

User avatar
L.Willms
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:40 am
Location: Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Microtek Artixscan 120tf firmware on Polaroid 120?

Postby L.Willms » Fri Sep 23, 2005 9:13 pm

Has anybody here ever tried to load the latest Microtek firmware for their original version of the Polaroid Sprintscan 120, the Artixscan 120tf, to the Polaroid model?

I have recently loaded the firmware version 1.33 from the Polaroid support site to the scanner, but I did not dare to load the Microtek version 1.70.

Has anybody tried it, and if yes, with what results? Is it worth it?

Does the Silverfast softare, which is branded for the Polaroid version of that scanner, still work with the Microtek firmware?

If not, does Lasersoft provide the exchange?


Yours,
L.W.

User avatar
LSI_Noack
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:30 pm
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Postby LSI_Noack » Tue Sep 27, 2005 3:32 pm

Dear Mr Willms

we done firmware replacements (EEPROMs) to change an Polaroid Sprintscan 120 to a Microtek Artixscan 120 and vice versa.
As long as you don't actually damage the EEPROM, this should work.

However, as the usual disclaimer must obviously follow here:
I can only stress you're doing this one your own risk. It may be your scanner differs anyhow and a firmware change gone bad can possibly damage your scanner beyond repair.

Best regards
Sonny Noack
- Manager Technical Support, LaserSoft Imaging AG -

User avatar
L.Willms
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:40 am
Location: Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Postby L.Willms » Thu Oct 06, 2005 10:43 am

Thanks a lot, Mr. Noack for this helpful information.

Maybe you could also explain in what the 1.70 microcode from Microtek differs from the 1.33 microcode from Polaroid?

Is it worth while at all to upgrade? Or would that only be a "sidegrade"?

Could it be that the "soft banding issue" is resolved with this upgrade?

Yours,
L.W.

User avatar
LSI_Noack
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:30 pm
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Postby LSI_Noack » Fri Oct 14, 2005 10:58 am

Dear Mr Willms

you know want they say: There are only 10 kinds of people - those who speak binary and those who don't ;)

Although I feel myself quite familiar with lots of aspects of computers, I fail to read in microcode how the two releases differ. All I can say that when I take a Polaroid Sprintscan 120 with the firmware 1.33 I find colour channel mismatches and striped scans - this is regardless whether I use SilverFast or Polaroid's Insightscan.
However, when I put Microtek's firmware 1.70 release for the Artixscan 120 into that very scanner, both problems vanish.

I contacted Microtek/Umax support to learn whether Polaroid scanner users can somehow be helped by them.

Best regards
Sonny Noack
- Manager Technical Support, LaserSoft Imaging AG -

Jeong hyun Kim
Visitor
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 7:45 pm

EEPROM and BIN File to change 120tf

Postby Jeong hyun Kim » Tue Oct 25, 2005 10:41 am

I live in S. Korea, and I have using SS120 since three years.
I have feeling SS120 Firmware has some color trouble, and I wanna scan Xpan film with original film holder.

For changing Frimware, I tried to input another EEPROM to SS120 scanner.
SS120's original EEPROM is "Winbond W29EE011-90"
So, I put Microtek 1.6 firmware "Phye9160.bin" to EEPROM by ROM-writer.
That BIN file is downloaded in Microtek website.

But Scanner doesn't work, and PC also doesn't recognize scanner.

For the test, I tried to copy ss120 ROM data to another blink ROM, and put the copied ROM on ss120, it works very well without any trouble.

I wanna know what is the right way to change ss120 to 120tf.

Please let me know what EEPROM and BIN file are right for changing Firmware.
Last edited by Jeong hyun Kim on Fri Oct 28, 2005 6:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
LSI_Noack
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:30 pm
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Postby LSI_Noack » Tue Oct 25, 2005 1:12 pm

Dear Jeong hyun Kim

when using the either the Microtek or the Polaroid firmware update software, they refuse to reprogramme the EEPROM - and I am sure there is some good reason for that.

If you would want to change your Polaroid Sprintscan 120 into an Microtek Artixscan 120, I suggest you want to ask Microtek support to provide you with an appropriate EEPROM, then pull of the only socketed Polaroid EEPROM and put the Microtek EEPROM into the socket (they are pin compatible).
I have done so a couple of times and had no problems so far.

However, please be aware you do such things on your own risk.

Also, you might want to wait a little because I am just in busy contact with Microtek if they would want to provide Polaroid customers with such EEPROMs mentioned.

Result to follow in another posting...

Best regards
Sonny Noack
- tech support, LSI AG -

Jeong hyun Kim
Visitor
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 7:45 pm

New Firmware

Postby Jeong hyun Kim » Tue Oct 25, 2005 7:34 pm

Thanks, Sonny Noack for your fast answer.

Several month ago I did contact Microtek technical support team, but they refused my request.
So I tried every means available... :o

If possible, could you ask to Microtek that EEPROM's name of 120tf and input "Phye9160.bin" by ROM-writer is right file? If not I hope to know what BIN file is correct for change scanner firmware.

And if you have remnant EEPROM from Microtek, could you send it to Korea? Of course I'll pay all charge. And everything are my own risk.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to hearing from you, good result.
In Korea also have many ss120 user, and all they wanna use new firmware.

Thanks again.


Regards,
J. hyun Kim

User avatar
LSI_Noack
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:30 pm
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Postby LSI_Noack » Wed Oct 26, 2005 9:54 am

Dear Polaroid Sprintscan 120 users

now there's light at the tunnel's end 8)
Microtek support staff offer to provide EEPROM from Microtek Artixscan 120 which can be used with the SS120.

This enables you to work with an the more recent firmware release 1.70 (instead of Polaroid's 1.33) which solves any trouble with striped scans or colour channel mismatches that could be reproduced in LaserSoft's testing center or by Microtek's engineers.

The EEPROM is offered for only EUR 8,- plus postage and VAT.
Please contact <a href="mailto:support@microtek.de">support@microtek.de</a> for an individual offer.

Best regards
Sonny Noack
- Manager Technical Support, LaserSoft Imaging AG -
Last edited by LSI_Noack on Thu Nov 03, 2005 5:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

seth.friedman@verizon.net
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2002 1:00 am

EEPROM change and Silverfast support

Postby seth.friedman@verizon.net » Fri Oct 28, 2005 12:51 pm

Hello LaserSoft,

I am pursuing the EEPROM upgrade you have brokered with Microtek. First of all, let me say THANK YOU!

Secondly, once we do this upgrade, I am assuming the scanner will be detected as a Microtek 120tf. If this is the case, I am again assuming that my Silverfast software will not work unless I am using the 120tf version. Assuming all of the above is correct, will you allow Polaroid SS120 users to exchange their Silverfast software for the same version for the 120tf? If so, what do I need to do.

Thank you,

Seth Friedman

Jeong hyun Kim
Visitor
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 7:45 pm

Finished

Postby Jeong hyun Kim » Fri Oct 28, 2005 5:42 pm

Thanks Sonny Noack.
I change my ss120 to 120tf.
And I also wanna know how can I change or upgrade my SilverFast.


Regards,
J. hyun Kim

User avatar
LSI_Noack
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:30 pm
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Postby LSI_Noack » Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:33 am

Dear Jeong hyun Kim

you just go ahead downloading the appropriate version of SilverFast for your (then) Microtek Artixscan 120 scanner:
https://www.silverfast.com/sf-download/ ... roduct=383

Best regards
Sonny Noack
- Manager Technical Support, LaserSoft Imaging AG -

User avatar
L.Willms
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:40 am
Location: Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Postby L.Willms » Fri Nov 11, 2005 8:24 am

LSI_Noack wrote:Microtek support staff offer to provide EEPROM from Microtek Artixscan 120 which can be used with the SS120.

This enables you to work with an the more recent firmware release 1.70 (instead of Polaroid's 1.33) which solves any trouble with striped scans or colour channel mismatches that could be reproduced in LaserSoft's testing center or by Microtek's engineers.

The EEPROM is offered for only EUR 8,- plus postage and VAT.


Nanu? I understood your answers to my original question that one can simply flash the firmware onto the existing EEPROM, without having to open the casing and changing hardware?!

Yours,
L.W.

User avatar
LSI_Noack
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:30 pm
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Postby LSI_Noack » Fri Nov 11, 2005 8:53 am

Dear L.W.

both EEPROM flashing utilities "look" for a certain scanner, i.e. the Polaroid one "sees" only the Sprintscan 120, but not the Artixscan 120, and v.v.

That's why you unfortunately need to exchange the component manually.
Thereafter you should have no trouble updating the firmware with the latest respective version.

Hoping to have shed some light and with best regards
Sonny Noack
- Manager Technical Support, LaserSoft Imaging AG -

Jeong hyun Kim
Visitor
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 7:45 pm

Changing Polaroid version SilverFast to Microtek version

Postby Jeong hyun Kim » Tue Nov 15, 2005 11:07 am

Dear Sonny Noack

Just now I updated my silverfast5.5 to 6.0(Polaroid ss120 version).
And I contact follow address, try to update again for changing ss120 to 120tf.

https://www.silverfast.com/sf-download/ ... roduct=383 <= As you let me know

But I only see follow messages.

Error:
SilverFast serial number is valid, however for a different SilverFast type or scanner


Would you let me know how can I change my Polaroid version Silverfast to Microtek version?

User avatar
LSI_Noack
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:30 pm
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Postby LSI_Noack » Tue Nov 15, 2005 11:57 am

Dear Jeong hyun Kim

I cannot discuss serial number issues in the forum.
I guess you emailed me back with the serial number in question and will have a look in the trouble ticket system for your reply.

Regards, Sonny


Return to “Polaroid”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest