Focus problem

All the problems with Polaroid film scanners

tokolosh
Visitor
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 7:03 pm

Focus problem

Postby tokolosh » Thu Oct 21, 2004 7:11 pm

I posted before but didn't really get the help I need.

Is there a known issue with SF Ai focusing the Polaroid 120 scanner?

I'm not consistantly getting good sharp scans. I cant establish a
pattern to the behaviour. The negs are pin sharp through a loupe but
scan soft. I know I have to apply sharpening after the scan (or during) but this is different. Some film scans sharp and then just need that bit extra sharpening, and others are really really soft although they're
actually sharp through a loupe.

I use Silverfast Ai 6.2.2 and have the little focus icon (looks like
an enlarger) on so it shows bold/dark and the 'crosshair' appears over the
prescan image. The firmware is up to date.

Could the focus mechanism inside be loose or the autofocus be out of
calibration ? Or maybe SF cant focus this scanner ?Has anyone else had and solved this kind of problem?
Anyone know how to make the adjustment ? I'm pretty handy and could
take it on with a little instruction. Love to get an email from you -
I'm tearing my hair out.

LSI_Sperling
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2001 1:00 am

Postby LSI_Sperling » Wed Oct 27, 2004 2:01 pm

dear tokolosh
I tested the scanner on Mac 10.3.5 and the autofocus runs correct.
Problems could be caused by the filmstrip. Please contact our support, so that we will get more informations about your system, firmware, SilverFast settings and more.

regards

Christoph

tokolosh
Visitor
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 7:03 pm

Postby tokolosh » Wed Oct 27, 2004 2:08 pm

LSI_Sperling wrote:dear tokolosh
I tested the scanner on Mac 10.3.5 and the autofocus runs correct.
Problems could be caused by the filmstrip. Please contact our support, so that we will get more informations about your system, firmware, SilverFast settings and more.

regards

Christoph


I tried that first before posting to the forum. All that I received in reply was that I should enable the autofocus button in Ai - and, the tech support person didn't know if it was on or off when the icon was dark or greyed out !


Return to “Polaroid”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest