Plustek 8100 - faulty scans, red lines and partly scanned frame

All the problems with Plustek film scanners

stilken
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 9:02 pm
Scanner: Plustek OpticFilm 8100
SilverFast Product: SE Plus

Plustek 8100 - faulty scans, red lines and partly scanned frame

Postby stilken » Sun Mar 05, 2017 9:43 pm

Hi.

Recently i bought a Plustek 8100 to scan some negatives but i'm having some trouble getting SilverFast to function reliably.
The most annoying problem i'm having is this: Sometimes when doing a prescan or full scan i get something that looks like the attached image. This happens completely at random, but i have never been able to get more than 5-10 "good" scans in a row.
roll3_021.jpg
roll3_021.jpg (253.53 KiB) Viewed 1020 times

Sometimes the issue is fixed temporarily by quitting Silverfast and restarting the scanner. But more often than not i'll just have to do a bunch of scans/prescans before the issue fixes itself and I can continue scanning.

Multi exposue will always trigger the issue as well, and I'll get images looking like this.
roll3_040_ME.jpg
roll3_040_ME.jpg (535.85 KiB) Viewed 1020 times

Is this a known bug, or do you think the faulty scans could be hardware-related (something wrong with the scanner itself)?
I'm running the latest update of Silverfast, and the latest drivers on OS X 10.11.

Thank you!

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Plustek 8100 - faulty scans, red lines and partly scanned frame

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Wed Mar 08, 2017 3:41 pm

Dear user,

That looks like a hardware issue.
You should contact Plustek support about this.

Kind regards,
Arne

JW1337
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 1:35 am
Scanner: 8200i
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: Plustek 8100 - faulty scans, red lines and partly scanned frame

Postby JW1337 » Tue Aug 29, 2017 1:53 am

I get similar issue on the preview, but the thumbnail preview is ok & image comes out normal.
Less & less visible with each preview. Until it's just the grey default background colour.

How do i know where to even scan? How to fix?
I've tried uninstall/reinstall.

Win10 & latest version SF 8.8

Image

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Plustek 8100 - faulty scans, red lines and partly scanned frame

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Tue Aug 29, 2017 1:38 pm

Dear JW1337,

Please download our latest update. The issue you seem to have is fixed there.

Kind regards,
Arne


Return to “Plustek”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest