Output colors far from preview

All the problems with Plustek film scanners

Vantage
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:09 pm
Scanner: Plustek 7300
SilverFast Product: SE Plus

Output colors far from preview

Postby Vantage » Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:28 pm

Hi all.

New amateur user here, trying to figure out SilverFast 8.

I have for a very long time wanted to scan my old negatives and my parents dias' from my childhood. Finally i found a good deal on a Plustek 7300 scanner, which would suit my needs.

However, I am struggling with getting outputs who resembles the colors of the dias' I am scanning.

Quick scan as example:
Image
Left side is the preview from SilverFast 8, and right side is the output.

All highlights is burned out, and the colors are way to "contrasty"..

What am I doing wrong? - The output is JPG in maximum quality and Baseline (Optimized) format. I am using Mac OSX Lion from an iMac, and the output as far as I know is Adobe RGB:
Image

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

LSI_Morales
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master
Posts: 1430
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:33 am

Re: Output colors far from preview

Postby LSI_Morales » Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:07 am

Hello there,

I can not see the results you are getting from Quickscan because it has been blocked.

I believed those pics have been scanned under Windows.

Quickscan does not use any color management by default, hence the differences between SilverFast and QuickScan.

If you activate the color management option in QuickScan you will obtain a picture close to that in SilverFast.

Cheers
Alejandro Morales

LaserSoft Imaging
Media manager, Software testing

Vantage
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:09 pm
Scanner: Plustek 7300
SilverFast Product: SE Plus

Re: Output colors far from preview

Postby Vantage » Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:05 pm

Sorry.. - Locked by a mistake.. - I have corrected it..

It is scanned under Mac OS X Lion.

LSI_Morales
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master
Posts: 1430
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:33 am

Re: Output colors far from preview

Postby LSI_Morales » Wed Feb 29, 2012 9:11 am

Hi there

I see you are using Multi-Exposure which is not reflected in the preview (unless you activate this option in SilverFast settings/special, and I believe this is exclusive of SilverFast Ai Studio).

You can make a test with and without Multi-Exposure

Kind regards
Alejandro Morales

LaserSoft Imaging
Media manager, Software testing


Return to “Plustek”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest