IT8 calibration Target

All the problems with Plustek film scanners

tookit
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 4:27 pm
Scanner: Plustek
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

IT8 calibration Target

Postby tookit » Thu Mar 08, 2012 4:35 pm

Hello
I just bought a 7600i AI, but it does not come with the IT8 Target.
And the retailer ask me to buy it on their web shop.
However there are few choices for the target like Kodak, Kodachrome and Fuji.
I would like to know which one is the standard one that come with the scanner, is it the Kodak?

Regards
Jacky

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: IT8 calibration Target

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Fri Mar 09, 2012 2:55 pm

Dear Jacky,

Both Kodak and Fuji targets can be used for standard transparency IT8 calibration.
The Kodachrome target is used for the Kodachrome mode an only used for that kind of film.

kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

tookit
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 4:27 pm
Scanner: Plustek
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: IT8 calibration Target

Postby tookit » Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:00 pm

Thank you for your answer!!
but what is the difference between Fuji and Kodak?
Which one would performance better on other films like AGFA, Rollei?
Or should I buy the standard one which come with the scanner?

Regards
Jacky

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: IT8 calibration Target

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:16 pm

Dear Jacky,

The standard IT8 calibration is a pure hardware sided function.
(Only Kodachrome is special here)

The Fuji and Kodak slides work equally well.
The Fuji film material tends to be more durable.

kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

Timothy.Erickson
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 26, 2012 3:09 am
Scanner: Plustek OpticFilm 7200i
SilverFast Product: SE Plus

Re: IT8 calibration Target

Postby Timothy.Erickson » Sat May 26, 2012 4:08 am

Just a question on my end. I don't have a target, so I guess am going with factory calibration. Is there something I need to be buying here?

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: IT8 calibration Target

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Tue May 29, 2012 3:06 pm

No, using the factory profile does not require any additional purchase.
That is included in SilverFast.

kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.


Return to “Plustek”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest