I just got the scanner and I need to use it fast

All the problems with Plustek film scanners

sergec10
Visitor
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 12:35 am
Scanner: Plustek Optic Film 7600i
SilverFast Product: SE Plus
SilverFast Version: 6.6

I just got the scanner and I need to use it fast

Postby sergec10 » Wed Aug 24, 2011 12:49 am

In particular to get the following:

1) Scanning 35 mm film strips Kodak GA 100 5095

2) scanning at 3600 ppi

3) depth of 48 bit

4) output as Tiff in Photoshop

5) No sharpening

6) No interpolation

7) Dynamic range of at least 4.0

8) if using digital Ice, using the "Normal" set up

Can someone help me to set up the Silverfast software accurately to achieve the above?

Thanks

Sergec

LSI_Morales
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master
Posts: 1430
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:33 am

Re: I just got the scanner and I need to use it fast

Postby LSI_Morales » Wed Aug 24, 2011 7:57 am

Hi Sergec

sergec10 wrote:1) Scanning 35 mm film strips Kodak GA 100 5095


In the menu "pos/neg" choose negative, In the NegaFix window choose Kodak Gold 100.

sergec10 wrote:2) scanning at 3600 ppi


Set the resolution slider at 3600 dpi (If that value is not directly available in your slider choose the next higher value).

sergec10 wrote:3) depth of 48 bit


In the menu "Scan type" choose 48 bit Color mode

sergec10 wrote:4) output as Tiff in Photoshop


In SilverFast 6 you press "scan" and in the new dialogue you choose TIFF. The picture can then be opened with photoshop
In SilverFast 8 you choose the folder and type of file to be saved in the panel "scan dimensions", you can open the file afterwards with photoshop

sergec10 wrote:5) No sharpening

Turn off sharpening if it is active

sergec10 wrote:6) No interpolation

The resolution slider will always give you optical resolution steps, with the exception of the last step on the right side.

sergec10 wrote:7) Dynamic range of at least 4.0

The dynamic range is given by the scanner itself, only dedicated film scanners of great quality will achieve such dynamic range. You can however increase the dynamic range of your scanner by using Multi-Exposure

sergec10 wrote: if using digital Ice, using the "Normal" set up

Activate ICE to normal (if available)

Cheers
Alejandro Morales

LaserSoft Imaging
Media manager, Software testing

sergec10
Visitor
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 12:35 am
Scanner: Plustek Optic Film 7600i
SilverFast Product: SE Plus
SilverFast Version: 6.6

Re: I just got the scanner and I need to use it fast

Postby sergec10 » Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:14 pm

Hi friend,

With all my thanks.

Everything works except that:

1) When I finish scanning I end up with a picture which looks like it is a negative one (as opposed to the one displayed during the prescan.

I suspect that somehow the program switches away from scanning a negative and thinks it is dealing with a positive picture?

I looked but I do not see any options to change that. When I press Scan I only get the options to choose a type of file (Tiff, or Jpeg).

2) When I finish scanning the program opens into a Windows" program (Fax? or something like that). I would like to be in Photoshop.

How Can I do that?

Again thanks

Sergec

LSI_Morales
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master
Posts: 1430
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:33 am

Re: I just got the scanner and I need to use it fast

Postby LSI_Morales » Fri Aug 26, 2011 9:02 am

Hi There

sergec10 wrote:1) When I finish scanning I end up with a picture which looks like it is a negative one (as opposed to the one displayed during the prescan.

I suspect that somehow the program switches away from scanning a negative and thinks it is dealing with a positive picture?

I looked but I do not see any options to change that. When I press Scan I only get the options to choose a type of file (Tiff, or Jpeg).


You are probably scanning in 48 bit HDR mode which creates an unmodified raw file (no film inversion).

sergec10 wrote:2) When I finish scanning the program opens into a Windows" program (Fax? or something like that). I would like to be in Photoshop.

How Can I do that?


This is not made by SilverFast but by the operating system itself. You have to set Photoshop as your standard program for opening JPG and TIFF files.
In Win explorer, right click on a jpg or a tiff file, then select "open with" and in the dialogue to select the program, you will find a check box "use always" (or similar), make sure you check that box and then select photoshop.

Cheers
Alejandro Morales

LaserSoft Imaging
Media manager, Software testing

sergec10
Visitor
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 12:35 am
Scanner: Plustek Optic Film 7600i
SilverFast Product: SE Plus
SilverFast Version: 6.6

Re: I just got the scanner and I need to use it fast

Postby sergec10 » Fri Aug 26, 2011 1:43 pm

Thanks again.

Of course I had forgotten that.

Best

Serge


Return to “Plustek”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest