Changing Scanners

All the problems with Plustek film scanners

John M
Visitor
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 6:55 pm
Scanner: Plustek 7600i
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Changing Scanners

Postby John M » Thu Jun 01, 2017 4:44 pm

I'm going to sell my OpticFilm 7600i to a friend and upgrade to an 8200i. Since I already have Ai Studio 8, can I get by with purchasing the 8200i SE? The price difference is quite substantial and I don't see the need for 2 copies of Ai Studio 8.

Also, does the changeover merely involve changing the license from the 7600i to the 8200i?

Thanks very much.
Regards,
John M

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Changing Scanners

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Wed Jun 07, 2017 3:28 pm

Dear John.

Thank you for your interest in LaserSoft Imaging's software products!

SilverFast is developed specifically for each command set and chipset of a given scanner model range in order to achieve our goal: optimal scanning results.
Thus you cannot use a SilverFast Version developed for one scanner for a different one, even if the scanners in question come from the same manufacturer.

However, as an established customer with SilverFast you are eligible to buy another version of SilverFast for a discount price.
You can directly purchase an additional license through our web store.
Simply select "Additional license" for the license type and enter your existing scanner data.

Or contact our sales (sales@silverfast.de) for further information.

Kind regards,
Arne

John M
Visitor
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 6:55 pm
Scanner: Plustek 7600i
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: Changing Scanners

Postby John M » Thu Jun 08, 2017 1:17 am

Thank you for the reply, Arne. I wish I had seen it sooner. I visited the store page and ordered what I thought was a license upgrade, so I selected "Upgrade." Since it was an upgrade to the HDR Suite I still have the Ai Studio 8 that is specific to the 7600i. Does this mean I am going to have to spend another $100 for the additional license to use the 8200i? If so, I will have to seriously consider my options, which may mean abandoning SilverFast for other software. I just can't afford to keep spending money to use already-purchased software.

Thank you.
Regards,
John

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Changing Scanners

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Mon Jun 12, 2017 10:48 am

Dear John,

Please contact our sales department regarding this. I cannot help you any further here.
sales(at)silverfast.com

Kind regards,
Arne


Return to “Plustek”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest