All the problems with Plustek film scanners

garyritson
SilverFast User
SilverFast User
Scanner: Plustek 7600i se
SilverFast Product: SE Plus

Archiving many negs

Postby garyritson » Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:52 am

Hello there all, I'm very new to scanning and would like to scan my negs for achiving but also to be able to work on them later. I have a plustek 7600i se and I am slowly getting to grips with it. Does anyone have any idea what the best way to scan negs is? Ie what settingsto use. I understand setting are personal and are subjective but I'm looking for a balance between file size and good quality so as the final printed images don't look too grainy. First I want to get as many as I can into the new hard drive then start working on them to be used in an photobook. I'm guessing photo books are printed at 300dpi!!! The photos can then be taken to a lab and dropped off on a disc. IE Not over the internet so file size to retain quality of image is important. I guess none of the photos are going to be printed larger than 5x7inches. I also have CS2 if someone suggests I use Silverfast for one thing and photoshop for another.
Thanks
Any help at all would be great to get me started.
Gary

LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Scanner: all

Re: Archiving many negs

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:03 pm

Dear Gary,

You are right most of the settings have to be coosen by you according to your needs.
e.g.
If you want to scan directly for a certain print size you can choose the intended print resolution (e.g. 300dpi) using the resolution slider/input field.
Then you can enter the intended print size (e.g. 5"x7") as the output fields.
This will provide scans with exactly the right size for the intended use.

kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

garyritson
SilverFast User
SilverFast User

Postby garyritson » Fri Jan 21, 2011 10:58 am

Thank you for your speedy reply. I am getting better with the software but I do have a few more questions.