scanned image not aligned

All the problems with PIE film scanners only

annette7780
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 1:34 am
Scanner: Plustek 7600
PIE Primefilm 7200
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

scanned image not aligned

Postby annette7780 » Sun Mar 23, 2014 8:06 am

I have just installed a new scanner - a PIE PrimeFilm 7200 - and the latest version of Silverfast 8 Ai Studio - version 8.0.1r42 build 11277. I have also installed the latest driver from the PIE website. I have been using Silverfast for several years with several different scanners, and understand the various options and settings.

My image looks fine within the Silverfast window after Prescan, and I set the red frame to be within the black borders on the slide. However when I do the final Scan the resultant scanned image has a black area on the right-hand side and bottom edge; a similar-sized area is missing from the top edge and left-hand side. It seems that the Prescan can see the whole image, but the final Scan cannot. I have scanned the same image with Cyberview, without moving the slide-carrier, and the entire image is scanned - so it doesn't seem to be a hardware problem. I have attached some screenshots to illustrate what is happening.

Please let me know how to fix this problem
thanks
Attachments
Screenshot_Final-Scan.jpg
screenshot of final scan - image is not correctly aligned - black area to right/below; missing area to left / top
Screenshot_Final-Scan.jpg (124.71 KiB) Viewed 2048 times
Screenshot_Prescan.jpg
screenshot of Prescan - entire image is visible
Screenshot_Prescan.jpg (242.27 KiB) Viewed 2048 times
Screen Shot 2Scanner Status window.png
screenshots of Scanner status window - showing mis-alignment
Screen Shot 2Scanner Status window.png (22.65 KiB) Viewed 2048 times

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: scanned image not aligned

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Wed Mar 26, 2014 9:15 am

Dear customer,

have you tried doing several scans right after each other?
Does that offset maybe vary with each scan?


kind regards?
Arne Ketelhohn.

annette7780
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 1:34 am
Scanner: Plustek 7600
PIE Primefilm 7200
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: scanned image not aligned

Postby annette7780 » Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:09 am

Hi Arne

Thanks for your reply. I have just done 8 scans right after each other - all have the same problem. The offset black area seems to be the same size on all of them - the area on the right-hand side is wider than the area along the bottom edge. I have attached some examples.

I appreciate your help in sorting this out.

regards
Annette
Attachments
Screen Shot 2014-03-31 at 9.03.15 PM.png
samples
Screen Shot 2014-03-31 at 9.03.15 PM.png (253.03 KiB) Viewed 2016 times

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: scanned image not aligned

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:00 pm

Dear Annette,

Are you scanning slides or film strips?
In the Overview dialog you can find the offset tool for film strips.
Have you tried using that to correct the offset?
If it is the same for all images it should correct that.

For slides this behaviour would be strange as we do not have any influence over the pre-scan area.
It should be the same as in CyberView.

Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

annette7780
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 1:34 am
Scanner: Plustek 7600
PIE Primefilm 7200
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: scanned image not aligned

Postby annette7780 » Sun Apr 13, 2014 8:25 am

Hi Arne

Thanks for your help with this. I am scanning slides, although I have just tried some film-strip scans but they have the same problem.

I'm not sure what you mean by the "Overview dialog", but this is what I have tried -
- under Preferences, Auto, I tried different settings for "Auto frame inset", including making it inactive, and none fixed the problem
- under Preferences, Special, Find Frames Outset, I tried different amounts but none fixed the problem
- using the "Frame" button at the top-left of the screen I tried Delete Frame & Reset Frame several times but still had the same problem
- using the "Frame" button, then "maximise active frame" I got a better result - it scanned the full image, with no offsetting, although there's a black border around the whole image. This works ok, but it means I'll have to crop every scan
- I tried doing the same scans again with Cyberview, and had no problems - it scans the full image with no offsetting.

I'm hoping that this behaviour might provide some clues -
- using the Frame button, then "Find Frames", "Slide 35mm", the red border is drawn around only the top-left quarter of the pre-scan image - see screenshot attached (same happens for Filmstrip 35mm); this seems odd - I think with my other scanners the "Find Frames" detects the whole image and works quite well;
- also if I manually enter the size of a 35mm slide under Scan Dimensions, Expert Settings, Input, (width of 3.5cm and Height 2.4cm, Zoom 100%) the frame just draws around the top-left quarter of the Prescan image.

Do you have any other suggestions of how I can prevent the offsetting?

many thanks for your help

regards
Annette
Attachments
Screen Shot 2014-04-13 at 4.56.42 PM.png
"Find Frame, 35mm Slide" result
Screen Shot 2014-04-13 at 4.56.42 PM.png (182.23 KiB) Viewed 1960 times

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: scanned image not aligned

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Tue Apr 22, 2014 9:15 am

Dear Anette,

I have forwarded your post to our support system and will contact you by e-mail.
We will try to reproduce this behaviour.


Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

Bellarmin
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:02 am
Scanner: Epson Perfection V750 Pro
SilverFast Product: Ai
SilverFast Version: 6.6

Re: scanned image not aligned

Postby Bellarmin » Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:03 am

I wish the answer to this issue would have been posted. I am experiencing the very same problem and I am already desperate...

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: scanned image not aligned

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Thu Apr 20, 2017 2:44 pm

Dear user,

Please make sure you are using the latest update. The issue described here has been addressed several years ago.
Otherwise please contact our online support through the SilverFast Help menu's "Request online support" for further help.

Kind regards,
Arne


Return to “PIE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest