PF 1800 Silver not acquired - continuous loud noise

All the problems with PIE film scanners only

chris_b
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 12:03 am

PF 1800 Silver not acquired - continuous loud noise

Postby chris_b » Fri Jul 08, 2005 11:49 pm

Hello,

I have just bought a "PF 1800 Silver" scanner from someone who used it with Windows. I am trying to use the scanner with Mac OS, but the scanner just makes a loud noise (for 10 minutes or more, if I let it). I have tried a number of combinations:
Mac OS 9.2 with the current version of CyberView and SilverFast
Mac OS X 10.2.8 with the current version of CyberView X
Mac OS X 10.3.9 with the current version of CyberView X
Mac OS X 10.3.9 with the current version of the SilverFast software

Every time I start the scanning software, the scanner just makes a loud noise for a long time (5 minutes or more). The scanner light is on. The noise does not stop, so I have to turn the scanner off and force-quit the scanner program. No matter what I try, I get the same result every time: a continuous loud noise and the program does not acquire the scanner.

I do not have any other USB devices connected. The computers I've tried are a PowerBook G3, PowerBook G4, Power Mac 9500 with G3 upgrade.

Can someone please tell me what I need to do to get this scanner to work?

Thank you.

User avatar
LSI_Noack
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:30 pm
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Postby LSI_Noack » Tue Jul 12, 2005 2:23 pm

Dear chris_b

if I were you and had just bought a PF 1800 Silver scanner making excessive noise and nothing else, I would consider giving the scanner back - sounds like faulty hardware to me.

Best regards
Sonny Noack
- Manager Technical Support, LaserSoft Imaging AG -

asto999
SilverFast User
SilverFast User
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 8:34 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Postby asto999 » Mon Sep 12, 2005 8:36 am

This scanner is defective. I had a siilar problem with a reflecta RPS 7200 (= PIE 7250 Pro).
Continuous loud noise instead of initializing. I had I changed for free.


Return to “PIE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest