Multiple Sampling on 1800u

All the problems with PIE film scanners only

mrbshouse
Visitor
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 7:26 am

Multiple Sampling on 1800u

Postby mrbshouse » Mon Mar 03, 2003 8:18 pm

I have been trying to refine some of the grain that I see in my scanns without over correcting using GANE so I thought I would try Multiple Sampling. The result is a black and white image (color neg) that has lines with random color running across it. please see image at http://hotbs.com/bs/multisample4x.jpg Uploaded on 03-02-03

I'm using AI on a windows 98 system through PS with 384Mb ram.

Thanks in Advance

Bruce

LSI_Sperling_old
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2001 1:00 am

Postby LSI_Sperling_old » Tue Mar 04, 2003 3:56 pm

Dear Bruce -
Just I checked the Pie 1800u on Win 98 with SilverFast 6.0.1r38 from our website. Everything worked well. I didn?t find the bug you prescibed.
Please send the log file of your Silverfast folder - it?s inside the Photoshop Import / Export folder and descibe step by step what you are doing until the "bug" appears.

with regards

Christoph

mrbshouse
Visitor
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 7:26 am

Postby mrbshouse » Tue Mar 04, 2003 9:20 pm

Christoph,

Thanks for your reply!


UPDATE TO POSTED BELOW--- Updated driver to current version still have stripes noted in scanns using (PIE) and ghost image is gone in (32bit)

I have had version 6.0.1r28 for about 1 1/2 months and I notice that you are using a newer version. I have two types of input available both with the same version one being Silverfast (PIE) the other being Silverfast PIE (32 bit) ...which is the demo/twain and which is the plug in AI version?

I start by using (PIE) and run a prescann, choose 24 or 48 bit (made no difference which one I used), select GANE (even tried with no additional filters), color correct, Multi spample x 4 and scanned with and without SDR. I always received what looked like the reffereced file at http://hotbs.com/bs/multisample4x.jpg

When using (32 bit) I found that I could use any number of filters and received much better results using the multi sample for the first 10 images, but since then a ghost images appears based on the previous scann..see sample at http://hotbs.com/bs/1misscann.jpg

I've only had this a short time when did you update this version?
Which version is the twain (PIE) or (32bit)?
Why did the (32 bit) driver work until the ghost image showed?

In general how do I fix this and avoid this in the future?

Best wishes,

B
Last edited by mrbshouse on Thu Mar 06, 2003 7:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

LSI_Sperling_old
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2001 1:00 am

Postby LSI_Sperling_old » Wed Mar 05, 2003 12:35 pm

Dear Bruce -
First your questions: using ( Pie ) you will use the Photoshop plug-in and the Pie ( 32 bit ) is the Twain application. If you have Photoshop it is always better to use the Photoshop plug-in. Once more I checked your log file and SilverFast ( Pie 9 and Pie 32 bit ) version 6.0.1r28 and 6.0.1r38 on Win 98 SE with different resolutions and Multi sample * 4 and * 16 times.
I didn?t find the bug you descibed. So, what could be the problem. Your memory is 384 MB RAM. Please check how much memory your Photoshop has >> Edit >> Preferences >> Memory &Image Cache. Photoshop should have 100MB or more. Please clean the SilverFast pref folder and start again.
The ghost images which suddenly appears belong to the scanner. Sometimes I got them too. I don?t no why,but it seems, that the scanner not always starts to scan at the same point of the picture, if you use multisampling. I get the best results if the scanner is really warm up.

with regards

Christoph

mrbshouse
Visitor
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 7:26 am

Postby mrbshouse » Wed Mar 05, 2003 7:19 pm

Christoph,

I deleted the prefferences folder as I had to do when it was locking up previously and all seems well now. What could be causing this corruption of the prefs and why was this not cleared when I uninstalled the previous version to install the newest?

Thanks

B

UPDATED--- I've scanned about 12-15 images since I last deleted my prefferences and I have the ghost image again......why are the prefs so unstable? 295mb of my 384 goes to the process and I'm running at 30% free

LSI_Sperling_old
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2001 1:00 am

Postby LSI_Sperling_old » Thu Mar 06, 2003 11:22 am

Dear Bruce -
Once I tested the Sf 6.0.1r28. I scanned 23 differend negative slides - 900 dpi and multi sampling *4. I couldn?t find a ghost image. My question - did you only scan positive or negative slides - or change from positive to negative or rotate the prescan until the ghost image appears ( slowly I feel like a ghost buster :o )
Do you get the same ghost if you use the original software (CyberView) too ??

with regards

Christoph

mrbshouse
Visitor
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 7:26 am

Postby mrbshouse » Thu Mar 06, 2003 6:56 pm

Christoph,

updated post-- after deleting the prefs folder 3 times today I had to finally delete the whole program and started fresh. side from the post that I already created below I will simply delete and reinstall when i have trouble I have wasted to much time trying to figure out why this is so buggy. I give you credit for creating very good images but I find that the stability of this software is unexcaptable. For the time and effort that I have invested I can only suggest to anyone reading this that they get silverfast in a bundle deal or pay for a better scanner!

I'm scanning at 1800 dpi with 200% enlargement using sharpen (USM). I use only negatives and switch between BW & color -- Fugi & Kodak. With your help I'm now multi sampling 4-16 times per scann. I have stopped rotating the prescann due to lenghty time in rotating image after scann and preffer to do that in PS.

I deleted the Pref folder at 9:31 am and had to do so again at 1:21 pm, due to ghost image after about 12-15 images ranging from 45 to 95 mb.

To tell you the truth I don't use the driver from PIE...if it weren't for Silver Fast I would have returned the scanner due to poor image quality.

another thing that may be related is that at 1800 dpi the max enlargment is 200% regardless of image size (45 mb or 95 mb)

Is there some issue with memory managment---that then corrupts the prefs folder? I have 295 mb of my 384 earmarked for PS , which is 75% of my resources.


Return to “PIE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest