reflecta rps 7200 and silverfast8

All the problems with other film scanners

Moderator: LSI_Ketelhohn


cromero
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 12:58 pm
Scanner: Reflecta rps 7200 Professional
SilverFast Product: Ai

Re: reflecta rps 7200 and silverfast8

Postby cromero » Thu Apr 26, 2012 7:30 pm

Hello,
I've made the download of SilverFast Ai Studio Version 8 (Reflecta RPS 7200), and I've installed the drivers from Reflecta for RPS 7200 (file: CyberView X 5.10.2_alle Sprachen.pkg), but Silverfast does not open (Message: "There was a problem starting your scanner.Please make sure your drivers are installed correctly.Exiting now..."). What can I do?
Thank you very much
Carlos Romero Oliveira

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: reflecta rps 7200 and silverfast8

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Mon Apr 30, 2012 9:48 am

Dear customer,

Which operating system are you using?

For Windows please make sure the correct driver is in use.

For OSX Systems SilverFastmust be switched to 32bit mode.

Also make sure you have the latest firmware installed.
This is available from the manufacturer's website and can be updated through the "Help" menu in Cyberview.



kind regards,
ArneKetelhohn.

cromero
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 12:58 pm
Scanner: Reflecta rps 7200 Professional
SilverFast Product: Ai

Re: reflecta rps 7200 and silverfast8

Postby cromero » Wed May 02, 2012 11:25 pm

My operating system is OSX Lion, running in iMac 4GB with Geforce 9400.
I've installed Silverfast 8, it opens, but a few minutes later the program breaks down, it appears the spinning wheel and it's over.
Some Mac specialists told me that Snow Leopard is better for my iMac then OSX Lion. I really don't know what to do...

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: reflecta rps 7200 and silverfast8

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Wed May 09, 2012 10:39 am

I have forwarded your request to our support system.


kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

urban
Visitor
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:49 pm
Scanner: Reflecta RPS7200
SilverFast Product: SE Plus

Re: reflecta rps 7200 and silverfast8

Postby urban » Wed Nov 21, 2012 7:57 pm

I have just bought a Reflecta RPS 7200 and Silverfast SE plus 8. My system is Mac OS Mountain Lion 10.8.2 on an iMac 2011.

The scanner works with Cyberview, but without ICE.

But when I launch Silverfast, I get the initial screen and it shows the scanner, but when I click next, expecting to get the activation page, I get a message saying there is a "problem staring your scanner. Please make sure your drivers are installed correctly."

I understand that Silverfast runs in 32-bit mode, but Apple has apparently taken the "shift to 32-bit" box away in the "Get Info" panel. Is there any other way to get Silverfast running? If not, will there be a 64-bit upgrade?

Best Regards.

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: reflecta rps 7200 and silverfast8

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Thu Nov 22, 2012 3:06 pm

Dear customer,

Please make sure you click on the SilverFast 8 App inside the SilverFast 8 folder.
The folder is often mistaken for the app itself because it carries the Icon.
You also need to be an Administrator to see that option.


kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

urban
Visitor
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:49 pm
Scanner: Reflecta RPS7200
SilverFast Product: SE Plus

Re: reflecta rps 7200 and silverfast8

Postby urban » Thu Nov 22, 2012 4:33 pm

Skärmavbild 2012-11-22 kl. 16.27.50.png
Skärmavbild 2012-11-22 kl. 16.27.50.png (89.04 KiB) Viewed 4033 times
Dear Arne,

Sorry, but that didn´t work. I attach a screen dump for your info. "Delad mapp" = Shared folder. "Låst" = Locked. "Läsa och skriva" = Read and write. As you can see, I have the authority to make changes.

Best regards.

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: reflecta rps 7200 and silverfast8

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Fri Nov 23, 2012 5:32 pm

Dear customer,

this is exactly what I meant.
Your screenshot shows the info for the SilverFast 8 folder not the app inside it.


kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

urban
Visitor
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:49 pm
Scanner: Reflecta RPS7200
SilverFast Product: SE Plus

Re: reflecta rps 7200 and silverfast8

Postby urban » Sun Dec 09, 2012 4:17 pm

Dear Arne,

Thank you. Thst solved the problem; only that a new one turned up: The program hangs erratically but very often. In fact, so often that I can't use it because when I turn off the program and restart, it doesn´t recognise the scanner. So I have to restart the scanner which is very time consuming. Just to wait for the program to hang again very soon. What can be the cause of this?

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: reflecta rps 7200 and silverfast8

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Mon Dec 10, 2012 10:25 am

Dear customer,

Maybe SilverFast runs out of memory.
In the SilverFast preferences' general tab you will find the possibility to assign more memory to Silverfast.

Here you will also find the possibility to define the location for the temporary files.
In case you have a second hard drive installed please try moving the temporary files there.
Simply create a new folder on the other drive, select it here and restart SilverFast.

Otherwise this behavior could also mean that the scanner has an issue.

kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

urban
Visitor
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:49 pm
Scanner: Reflecta RPS7200
SilverFast Product: SE Plus

Re: reflecta rps 7200 and silverfast8

Postby urban » Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:30 pm

Dear Arne,

Thak you for the fast answer. My RAM is 8 GB, the processor is 2,5 GHz and free memory is >300 GB. The assigned max memory for Silverfast is 2048 MB. When I try to increase it, the value goes instantly back to 2048. I can decrease it, though.

I´ve got only the hard disk in the iMac.

So what to do?

urban
Visitor
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:49 pm
Scanner: Reflecta RPS7200
SilverFast Product: SE Plus

Re: reflecta rps 7200 and silverfast8

Postby urban » Tue Dec 18, 2012 2:11 pm

LSI_Ketelhohn wrote:Dear customer,

Maybe SilverFast runs out of memory.
In the SilverFast preferences' general tab you will find the possibility to assign more memory to Silverfast.

Here you will also find the possibility to define the location for the temporary files.
In case you have a second hard drive installed please try moving the temporary files there.
Simply create a new folder on the other drive, select it here and restart SilverFast.

Otherwise this behavior could also mean that the scanner has an issue.

kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.



Dear Arne,

Thak you for the fast answer. My RAM is 8 GB, the processor is 2,5 GHz and free memory is >300 GB. The assigned max memory for Silverfast is 2048 MB. When I try to increase it, the value goes instantly back to 2048. I can decrease it, though.

I´ve got no other hard disk than the one in the iMac.

So what to do?

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: reflecta rps 7200 and silverfast8

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:39 pm

The 2048 is the current limit due to the 32bit drivers.
This will change when 64bit drivers become available.
For most operations 2048MB should be enough.

Just make sure no other application is running which might also reserve a lot of memory.
e.g. other imaging software like Photoshop.


kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

Mike Boreham
Visitor
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 9:23 am
Scanner: Reflecta RPS 7200
SilverFast Product: SE

Re: reflecta rps 7200 and silverfast8

Postby Mike Boreham » Wed Jan 09, 2013 9:05 am

LSI_Ketelhohn wrote:The 2048 is the current limit due to the 32bit drivers.
This will change when 64bit drivers become available.
For most operations 2048MB should be enough.

kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.


Can you advise who has to supply the 64 bit drivers? Is it Reflecta?

I would like to put some pressure for them to be released.

If you have any advise on a contact I would be grateful.

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: reflecta rps 7200 and silverfast8

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Wed Jan 09, 2013 9:43 am

Dear Mr Boreham,

The drivers are created by Reflecta.
To our knowledge several 64bit drivers are already in testing.

kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.


Return to “Other”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest