workflow / HDR-Studio and Nikon coolscan 5000 and two iMac

All the problems with Nikon film scanners

Nikon5000_user
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 2:39 pm
Scanner: Nikon Coolscan 5000
SilverFast Product: Archive Suite

workflow / HDR-Studio and Nikon coolscan 5000 and two iMac

Postby Nikon5000_user » Wed Mar 16, 2011 5:44 pm

I need some help on the workflow.

Actually I am confused to buy a scanner specific software and not getting a scanner specific documentation!

Hardware configuration
iMac I is driving Nikon coolscan 5000 and slicefeeder 210 and Silverfast Studio
iMac II is using Silverfast HDR

My goal:
==> I want to build up a max. quality archive (of my slides and negatives) possible.
==> I will archive the 64 bit HDRi Version of my slides / negatives AND I will generate 24 bit TIFFs
==> The digital photos (24 bit TIFFS) will be organized by Aperture.

As far as I understand: If I produce 64 bit HDRi scans most of the options of Silverfast - Studio are of no relevance - but its not really clear, which options are important :-?



In the following I will give you my workflow and hope to get some advice on how to optimize


Which Gamma to use?
I am on Gamma = 2.2 (and HDR-output NOT selected) ==> Is this of any importance?

output Quality
As I dont want to loose any picture-information I am using:
64 bit HDRi
Q = 1
lpi = 4000
dpi = 4000
This resolves in about Mbyte 174, which is really huge!
==> Did I made any mistakes?



I suppose the following options are not important for producing HDRi scans?
By looking at the possible options I am using:
Schwellwert Lichter = 2
Schwellwert Tiefen = 0
Lichter auf % = 2
Tiefen auf % = 98
Farbstichentfernung = 100, aktiv: flaged
Autorahmen Verkleinerung = -1
Automatik für ADF/batch flaged
Autorahmen für ADF / batch NOT flaged
ACR bei Automatik NOT flaged
Mitten-Pip.: fester Zielwert = 50 aktiv NOT flaged
Auto IT8-Kalibration flaged
Eigener ICC-Profilname NOT flaged

CMS
Colormanagement: ColorSync / ColorSync / RGB
Profile für ColorSync: SF_T (Nikon LS-5000 ED) / Adobe RGB1998.icc / KEIN / Kein / Wahrnehmungsgetreu
Eingebettete ICC-Profile: markiert / SF T (Nikon LS-5000 ED)
Plug & Play CMYK: KEIN

Spezial
Filter = Weiss
Lampenhelligkeit = muss ich hier etwas ändern?
Prescan monochrom NOT flaged
Prescan schneller: flaged (==> für bessere Qualität NICHT markieren??)
HiRepp: flaged
Gamma-Steigung beschränken: NOT flaged


Further questions
If I "click" on Multiexposure: Silverfast is running Multiexposure also in batch modus?
I do have IT8-Targets. How to integrate the callibration data into the HDRi scans?
How to make a prescan before every slide (batch modus)?
How to be shure that Silverfast produces a autofokus-run for every slide (in batch modus)?
What does max. ADF-Scans mean? The number of slides to be scanned?
Why can I use all the buttons in the "big" window (on the left side) while performing a HDRi scan?
Running HDR-Software: Is it useful to save pictures as 24 bit TIFFs (Is this the max quality version?)?

As I stated earlier:
I would prefer not to bother you with this questions but I couldnot find any (convincing) description of how to use the archive software. And especially no description of how to run nikon Coolscan 5000. And I am sorry, but I believe that a software, which is limited in being used with nikon coolscan 5000 AND has a "special" high price to be used for nikon coolscan 5000 should also provide special information of how to use this software in combination with the scanner.



Thanks for your help.

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: workflow / HDR-Studio and Nikon coolscan 5000 and two iM

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Mon Mar 21, 2011 10:20 am

Nikon5000_user wrote:As far as I understand: If I produce 64 bit HDRi scans most of the options of SilverFast - Studio are of no relevance - but its not really clear, which options are important :-?

Any settings whch are hardware specific have to be set before scanning.
e.g.: resolution, focus settings, manual lamp brightness adjustment


Nikon5000_user wrote:I am on Gamma = 2.2 (and HDR-output NOT selected) ==> Is this of any importance?

This is correct, you should only change this setting if your workflow demands it.

Nikon5000_user wrote:output Quality
As I dont want to loose any picture-information I am using:
64 bit HDRi
Q = 1
lpi = 4000
dpi = 4000
This resolves in about Mbyte 174, which is really huge!
==> Did I made any mistakes?

No, this is correct.


Nikon5000_user wrote:I suppose the following options are not important for producing HDRi scans?

correct, those options are not important.

Nikon5000_user wrote:Lampenhelligkeit = muss ich hier etwas ändern?

normally not

Nikon5000_user wrote:Prescan schneller: flaged (==> für bessere Qualität NICHT markieren??)

This setting has no influence on the final scan.

Nikon5000_user wrote:If I "click" on Multiexposure: SilverFast is running Multiexposure also in batch modus?

yes
Nikon5000_user wrote:I do have IT8-Targets. How to integrate the callibration data into the HDRi scans?

That is done automatically.
Nikon5000_user wrote:How to make a prescan before every slide (batch modus)?

That is neither possible nor necessary.
Nikon5000_user wrote:How to be shure that SilverFast produces a autofokus-run for every slide (in batch modus)?

That is done by the scanner not SilverFast.
Nikon5000_user wrote:What does max. ADF-Scans mean? The number of slides to be scanned?

That is the maximum number of images the batch mode shall process.
Nikon5000_user wrote:Why can I use all the buttons in the "big" window (on the left side) while performing a HDRi scan?

Only those options which change the image are grayed out. All other options are still usable.
Nikon5000_user wrote:Running HDR-Software: Is it useful to save pictures as 24 bit TIFFs (Is this the max quality version?)?

24bit is the standard bit depth for images.
48bit should only be used if the image is to be processed by professional imaging software like SilverFast HDR or Photoshop CS5.
Many other applications can not display or process 48bit images.


kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn


Return to “Nikon”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest