Problem with Silverfast on Nikon 8000ED

All the problems with Nikon film scanners

edober
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 9:18 am

Problem with Silverfast on Nikon 8000ED

Postby edober » Wed Aug 13, 2008 9:37 am

Power Mac PC G5, OS X 10.4.11
Silverfast 6.5.5r5 AND 6.6.0r2
Photoshop CS3 V.10.0.1
With both versions of Silverfast I started to have problems: after a couple of scans ( 35mm slides and B/W negatives) which come out ok the next scans come out all garbled (no picture but just messy horizontal lines).
Even after upgrading to 6.6.0r2 I've had the same results.
Please take note that using the standalone SF Universal launcher the scanner is working perfectly.
What could be the problem?
Also in the new version 6.6.0r2 in the menu: General, Options, Special, the menu "superfine scan" has disappeared.
Is that normal?
Thank you for your attention.
regards
edober

LSI_Heidorn
SilverFast Expert
SilverFast Expert
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Germany

Re: Problem with Silverfast on Nikon 8000ED

Postby LSI_Heidorn » Thu Aug 14, 2008 10:35 am

Dear edober,
this sounds very strange, can it be connection Problems ?
Did you try a different FW cable and/or port ?!

About the "superfine" mode, with 6.6 this is now standard, maybe we will introduce an option to switch back to normal mode altough in my opinion the normal mode is too bad...

best regards,

Nils Heidorn

edober
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 9:18 am

Re: Problem with Silverfast on Nikon 8000ED

Postby edober » Mon Sep 01, 2008 4:14 pm

Thanks Niels
everything works great now, it just fixed itself after a restart.
One question: I have upgraded from Silverfast AI 6.5.5r5 to 6.6.0r2, I see a Multiscan button but it does not seem to do anything.
How does it work once you choose the frame on the Overview of all images on film?
Thanks
edober

LSI_Heidorn
SilverFast Expert
SilverFast Expert
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Germany

Re: Problem with Silverfast on Nikon 8000ED

Postby LSI_Heidorn » Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:55 am

Dear edober,
the multiscan button will only affect the end scan.
You may notice that an end scan with high multiscan values ( e.g. 16x ) will take much longer to execute as each line is scanned 16 times to eleminate noise...

Greetings,

Nils Heidorn


Return to “Nikon”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest