Nikon Coolscan 9000 / Silverfast AI Studio 6.5. Any issues?

All the problems with Nikon film scanners

hassiman
SilverFast User
SilverFast User

Nikon Coolscan 9000 / Silverfast AI Studio 6.5. Any issues?

Postby hassiman » Wed Feb 27, 2008 7:31 am

Hi,

I am just about to take delivery of my new CoolScan 9000. I am running OS 10.4.11 on an Intel MacPro. I was wondering what I should be prepared for. I am new to high quality ( I hope) scanning. I will be scanning 6X6 B&W and Velveeta negs and slides as well as 35mm Veleeta and Kodachromes.

I had heard Silverfast AI was good software... and I was just wondering if you might be aware of anything I need to know as I start.

Can Silverfast can generate RAW files like v**s**n?... How does Silverfast compare to v**s**n?

How well does the multiple exposure feature work in AI Studio?

Is it better to run silverfast as a stand-alone or through CS3?

Is Digfital ICE part of Silverfast or the basic Nikon Scan software... how does one use it with SilverFast?

Thanks... sorry for all the questions.

LSI_Noack
LSI Staff
LSI Staff

Postby LSI_Noack » Wed Feb 27, 2008 2:49 pm

Dear hassiman

Sascha Steinhoff offers a good comparative tutorial to answer your questions perhaps best in his best selling "Scanning Negatives and Slides: Digitizing Your Photographic Archives".

Amazon link to the book:
http://tinyurl.com/2ndfyh

Best regards
Sonny Noack
- Manager Technical Support, LaserSoft Imaging AG -

hassiman
SilverFast User
SilverFast User

RE: Your response to questions on Silverfast Studio AI

Postby hassiman » Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:53 pm

Dear Sonny,

I think that as support MANAGER for Silverfast AI your response.. or should I say lack thereof speaks volumes as to LaserSoft's attitude towards customer service.