How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

All the problems with Nikon film scanners

sab
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 6:52 pm
Scanner: Nikpn CS5000 ED
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

Postby sab » Sat Sep 17, 2011 7:19 pm

I am using Ai Studio 8 demo with a Nikon CS5000 ED.

Will you please tell me in detail how to do a filmstrip overview scan that can then be used to select the frames for processing/final scanning?

I can't find an Overview button that you refer to in another recent posting vis a vis ADF in this sub-forum.

Thanks,

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Fri Sep 23, 2011 10:39 am

You first do an overview scan.
Then you can select the images to be scanned using Ctrl+click and/or Alt+click.
The blue marked images will be scanned using the current frame settings after you long-press the scan button and select ADF scan.

kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn

KenK
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 2:11 am
Scanner: Nikon Cool Scann 5000
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

Postby KenK » Mon Oct 31, 2011 2:36 am

Reading the previous posts on this topic, the miss communication is that V 8.0 does not work the way it should with the Nikon scanners. First off when trying to do an overview scan, the scanner trys to scan 6 frames and with less than 6 frames the software hangs up and gives a scanner error. I have to go back and forth from prescan to adf scan to finally get the 4 or 5 frames to scan. Only the first frame ever shows up in the overview window. Therefore, your advice to ctl click or alt click is meaning less. I suggest a top priority bug fix or stop selling defective software.

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Fri Nov 04, 2011 8:46 am

Have you tried removing and reinserting the film strip adapter?
I have no issues doing an overview with a 4 image film strip.

Screen shot 2011-11-04 at 08.43.45.png
Screen shot 2011-11-04 at 08.43.45.png (69.44 KiB) Viewed 4338 times


kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn

twerner
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:43 am
Scanner: nikon coolscan 9000ed
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

Postby twerner » Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:52 am

I just purchased Silverfast 8 AiStudio and I have similar problem. I can not find the "overview dialog" with filmstrip preview window. And it did not load automatically after inserting film the adapter with 4 frames slide strip.
Anyone has any ideas what is the problem?

(I am using Nikon Coolscan 9000ED)

Thank you,
Tomas

LSI_Morales
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master
Posts: 1430
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:33 am

Re: How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

Postby LSI_Morales » Fri Dec 02, 2011 2:47 pm

Hi there

twerner wrote:I can not find the "overview dialog" with filmstrip preview window. And it did not load automatically after inserting film the adapter with 4 frames slide strip.
Anyone has any ideas what is the problem?


what happen if you press the overview button located at the left side of the preview section?
Alejandro Morales

LaserSoft Imaging
Media manager, Software testing

nel
Visitor
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:05 pm
Scanner: epson V750
NIKON 4000ed
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

Postby nel » Tue Dec 20, 2011 11:55 am

Same problem here, can not get previews of a band of six black and white negatives.
I had to reinstall Nikonscan.

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:46 pm

In case you can not find the Overview button please try undocking the icon bar (drag it at the top).
The icon might not be visible because the window is too small.


kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

nel
Visitor
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:05 pm
Scanner: epson V750
NIKON 4000ed
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

Postby nel » Tue Dec 20, 2011 10:53 pm

I see the button, the scanner read the strip but i can't see any prévisualisation.

LSI_Morales
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master
Posts: 1430
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:33 am

Re: How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

Postby LSI_Morales » Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:09 am

Hi nel

Which scanner are you using?

Cheers
Alejandro Morales

LaserSoft Imaging
Media manager, Software testing

nel
Visitor
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:05 pm
Scanner: epson V750
NIKON 4000ed
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

Postby nel » Wed Dec 28, 2011 12:05 pm

I'm using a nikon super coolscan 4000 ED

LSI_Morales
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master
Posts: 1430
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:33 am

Re: How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

Postby LSI_Morales » Tue Jan 03, 2012 5:36 pm

Dear Nel,

we tested this issue today on our test center under Windows 7, we could not reproduce the problem. The overview feature works perfectly.

Please try uninstalling SilverFast and reinstalling it.

Kind regards
Alejandro Morales

LaserSoft Imaging
Media manager, Software testing

nel
Visitor
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:05 pm
Scanner: epson V750
NIKON 4000ed
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

Postby nel » Wed Jan 04, 2012 6:22 pm

Hello,
I uninstalled my 2 scanners (Nikon and Epson) and reinstalled the 2 starting with the Nikon
I am still not getting the preview negatives.
I have Windows 7 64-bit.
I am very disappointed, I can use SilverFast only for the slides.

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Fri Jan 13, 2012 4:15 pm

We are currently preparing our next upgrade.
This will include improvements for the Nikon scanners and include an extended functionality for the film overview.
The update should be available within the next weeks.

kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

nel
Visitor
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:05 pm
Scanner: epson V750
NIKON 4000ed
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

Postby nel » Sat Jan 28, 2012 3:05 pm

I upgrade to 8.01.r5
Impossible to prescan a film strip.
Just a new message : "erreur du module SF" and no more.


Return to “Nikon”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest