How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

All the problems with Nikon film scanners

Pena
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 6:41 pm
Scanner: Nikon LS 5000 ED
SilverFast Product: Archive Suite

Re: How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

Postby Pena » Thu Feb 09, 2012 6:51 pm

I Just bought the Ai Studio 8 and it is not working as it should with my Nikon LS 5000 ED scanner. I can not find an overview scan dialog at all which makes it impossible to scan my film strips - I can only scan the first frame of the strip - can not access any other frames on a film strip. Really BAD!!!
I am on MAC OSX 10.7.3. Need an urgent fix for this bug...

Regards Pena

Pena
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 6:41 pm
Scanner: Nikon LS 5000 ED
SilverFast Product: Archive Suite

Re: How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

Postby Pena » Thu Feb 09, 2012 6:57 pm

My mistake,

finally found the radio button for the overview which was hidden due to the window being too small.
Sorry.
Pena

collum
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 8:13 pm

Re: How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

Postby collum » Mon Apr 23, 2012 8:07 pm

it appears that overview won't work with the full roll negative feeder (program dies.. mac osx 10.7.3)
also automatic frame detection doesn't work.... so from what I can tell if you have a nikon ls5000, you can scan part of the first negative on a roll... and that's it

any idea on when the LS 5000 will actually be supported?

wouldn't it just be easier to add Lion support to Silverfast 6.6xxxx (which was a very good product)

otherwise.. i'll have to go back to v**s**n

LSI_Morales
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master
Posts: 1430
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:33 am

Re: How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

Postby LSI_Morales » Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:56 pm

collum wrote:any idea on when the LS 5000 will actually be supported?


The LS 5000 is supported.

For this task it is important to use the SA-30 film adapter. Bear in mind that the SA-21 and the SA-30 identify themselves differently and only the SA-30 allows the Firmware to correctly perform this type of task.

collum wrote:wouldn't it just be easier to add Lion support to Silverfast 6.6xxxx (which was a very good product)


No, actually it would not be any easier because apple dropped complete support for PowerPC applications with Lion. Hence we had to re-program SilverFast completely from ground up.
Alejandro Morales

LaserSoft Imaging
Media manager, Software testing

collum
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 8:13 pm

Re: How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

Postby collum » Tue Apr 24, 2012 3:11 pm

i'm using the SA30.

when i attempt to do any sort of preview, (using overview) it takes the film strip (36 exposures) to the end of the roll and sits there (with the spinning ball). sometimes it crashes.


like i said.. this setup worked perfectly with 6.6

ADF doesn't appear to be supported (there are not next/previous frame icons displayed )

collum
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 8:13 pm

Re: How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

Postby collum » Tue Apr 24, 2012 3:14 pm

i talked to your support after posting the original msg yesterday, they had the same experience.

LSI_Morales
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master
Posts: 1430
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:33 am

Re: How To Do A Filmstrip Overview Scan

Postby LSI_Morales » Thu Apr 26, 2012 8:15 am

Hi collum,

Thanks for your information. We have created a ticket to investigate this issue. As soon as we have more news we will inform you here.

Kind regards
Alejandro Morales

LaserSoft Imaging
Media manager, Software testing


Return to “Nikon”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest