Few questions on using SF AI with color and B&W...

All the problems with Nikon film scanners

hassiman
SilverFast User
SilverFast User
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 7:15 am

Few questions on using SF AI with color and B&W...

Postby hassiman » Mon May 18, 2009 8:29 am

I am finally trying to get my scanning done and I have forgotten some basics on SF setup.

For best quality scans on nthe 9000 should I:

1. set the DPI to 3600 or 4000?

2. Q factor for 1.5?

3. Set scan at 48 bit?

4. What is the proper procedure for setting and adjusting the dark and light point on each image? I would like to properly adjust the dynamic range during scanning but make other adjustments in LightRoom.

5. I am totally confused by how I should set up the "Original" Scale" and "Output" fields. Are these determined by the size of the original image scanned? I always want to scan for the maximum resolution and print size from 35mm and 6X6 as I can always reduce this post scan... How should I set these fields up? What output resolution should I set?

6. Do you have a printout anywhere showing how the "General" -"Auto"-"CMS" and "Special preferences should be configured as a starting point for scanning color transparencies for fine art printing...? Could you point me to a tutorial that could print out to use as a guide?

7. What are the best basic settings for scanning B&W negatives? 16 bit grayscale?

8. Can HDR scans done in SF AI be opened and adjusted in Adobe LightRoom or CS4?

9. I just bought the KM IT8 for my KM slides... what should I use when scanning my Velvia transparencies? I originally bought the E061026 IT8 target from you... will this work well with Velvia?

10. Do I need to use ME to get the most out of Kodachrome when using the KM IT8 calibration? Are scans made with ME or multi pass scans as sharp as single pass scans ?

Danke

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Few questions on using SF AI with color and B&W...

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Wed May 20, 2009 9:04 am

Dear hassiman ,

The resolution should always be selected appropriate to the scan task.
In general the resolution should be selected using the slider next to the dpi input field.
This automatically selects hardware-resolutions the scanner can provide.


For most applications you can ignore the Q factor.

48 bit can only be read by a few imaging softwares. (e.g. Photoshop)
So only select this if you want to edit your scans in such a software.
For most common uses you should select 48->24 bit.

The light/dark point should be adjusted on an individual basis.
Normally you can use the image automatic to perform this task.
This will also optimize the dynamic range and use of color-space.

Als long as you are selecting the resolution manually you do not need to change scaling.
You can use this if you need a certain output size (e.g. 640x480pixel or 5'x6')

The only film-type which has to be individually calibrated is Kodachrome.
For all other films a standard IT8 target will work.

MultiExposure will enhance the dynamic range of slides. A loss of sharpness will neither occur with ME nor with MultiScans.

kind regards
Arne Ketelhohn

hassiman
SilverFast User
SilverFast User
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 7:15 am

Re: Few questions on using SF AI with color and B&W...

Postby hassiman » Wed May 20, 2009 6:11 pm

Dear Arne,

Will image Auto work with B&W neg scans also?

How does on set Black and white points manually in SF AI? Once these points are set then one can adjust them using the histogram.. correct?

Thanks

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Few questions on using SF AI with color and B&W...

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Fri May 22, 2009 1:36 pm

Dear hassiman,

yes, the image auto functions also with B/W images.
It will search for the values set in the auto options.
And you can adjust white/black points in the histogram.
Midtone can also be adjusted.
You find the three values represented by three triangles below the Graph in the Histogram tool.


kind regards
Arne Ketelhohn


Return to “Nikon”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest