Batch scan improvement

Express and discuss your wish for a new feature in SilverFast

Moderator: LSI_Moeller


Ancientmariner
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 7:02 am
Scanner: Opticfilm 120
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Batch scan improvement

Postby Ancientmariner » Thu Apr 07, 2016 8:29 am

Greetings,

I have been using Silverfast Ai Studio with Opticfilm 120. The batch scan of Silverfast first scans the tumbnails of the film slides and when you select the specific ones, it scans the selected slides again one by one (using Multipass) for preview. This creates an unnecessary work and makes a scan process longer than expected. (Also decreases the lifespan of the scanner.)

As a suggestion, after the selection of tumbnails, Silverfast may scan the selected slides in a single pass for preview.

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Batch scan improvement

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Wed Apr 13, 2016 8:55 am

Dear customer,

The Multi-Exposure preview is optional and can be disabled in the preferences' Special tab.

Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

Ancientmariner
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 7:02 am
Scanner: Opticfilm 120
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: Batch scan improvement

Postby Ancientmariner » Wed Apr 13, 2016 12:40 pm

Dear Arne,

Thanks for your reply but the multi - exposure preview is already disabled in my settings.

Let me explain in this way;

When I press 'overview' button, the film holder goes into the scanner and scans all the thumbnails by a single pass. But when I press 'add selection' button the film holder goes into the scanner to scan a single frame and comes out and when I want to preview the second frame, the film holder goes into the scanner and comes out again. This process done 12 times if I want to scan a fully loaded 35mm film holder. Instead, just like in the overview process, the film holder may go into the scanner, scans all the selected films to preview and comes out. This will save alot of time in the batch scanning process.

Thanks for your understanding.

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Batch scan improvement

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Fri Apr 15, 2016 3:27 pm

Dear customer,

What you describe unfortunately is not controlled by SilverFast.
The driver does that to verify the position of the film holder.
Please make sure you are using the latest driver.
Plustek improved it several times.

Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

BernhardKreuz
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 11:02 am
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: Batch scan improvement

Postby BernhardKreuz » Mon Oct 24, 2016 11:05 am

Hi,

well that is not the real problem.
Thing is:

When I use the 35mm holder with 12 negatives, I have to do a preview scan 12 times, once for each frame.
then I adjust the settings of each frame and can start the batch scan.

doing a seperate "preview" scan for each frame is the issue, that costs time.
With v**s**n I can tell the software to preview the whole holder of 12 frames, adjust each frame and start the batch. Thats much faster and more efficient, as I can do other stuff while the scanner previews the 12 frames instead of one by one.

with medium format there are not that many frames in a single holder, but still it would be nice to do all the preview scans at once.

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Batch scan improvement

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Fri Oct 28, 2016 4:37 pm

Sehr geehrter Herr Kreuz,

Ja momentan ist es nicht möglich für alle Bilder automatisch eine Vorschau zu erzeugen.
Dies ist aber bereits in Bearbeitung und für eine kommende Version geplant.

Mit freundlichen Grüssen,
Arne

BernhardKreuz
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 11:02 am
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: Batch scan improvement

Postby BernhardKreuz » Fri Oct 28, 2016 4:46 pm

Großartig, danke!

Ancientmariner
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 7:02 am
Scanner: Opticfilm 120
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: Batch scan improvement

Postby Ancientmariner » Tue Nov 15, 2016 7:39 am

Hi,

It's good to know that it's planned for the upcoming versions. I need to scan a huge archive and this will save a lot of time.

christianmic
Visitor
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 3:37 pm
Scanner: REFLECTA RPS 10M
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: Batch scan improvement

Postby christianmic » Mon Oct 23, 2017 11:12 am

Hello, when it is planned a new version to improve this feature?

gilst
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 10:39 am
Scanner: Epson Perfection V850 Pro
SilverFast Product: SE Plus

Re: Batch scan improvement

Postby gilst » Tue Dec 05, 2017 11:04 pm

I would really like to be able to use batch scan for only some of the frames that have been identified \ created in the workspace. therefore if I am using transparent scannimgof slides and 12 were identified I could select for batch scanning only pictures 3,4,6,7,8 for example. This is a situation in between scanning one by one and scanning all frames.

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Batch scan improvement

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:34 am

Dear user,

Depending on your SilverFast version that is possible.
In SilverFast Ai Studio you can use the JobManager to select individual existing frames for batch scanning.
In SilverFast Se and SE Plus this, unfortunately, is not possible.

Kind regards
Arne


Return to “New features wishlist”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests