Silverfast DUal Scan III under Vista

All the problems with Minolta film scanners

courtneydidit
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 3:42 am

Silverfast DUal Scan III under Vista

Postby courtneydidit » Tue Feb 05, 2008 3:51 am

Hi all,

I've been trying to launch the Silverfast Plug-In from the File->Import menu in CS3, but it seems to always fail.

If I use the minolta software, it works fine...

The error I get is "Scanner setup. Please close film holder slot." This message loops to infinity and I have to kill the CS3 process to get out of it.

Can someone help ?

User avatar
LSI_Noack
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:30 pm
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Postby LSI_Noack » Thu Feb 21, 2008 5:37 pm

Dear Ms Didit

for Photoshop CS 3 and Vista you'll definitely need SilverFast 6.5.5r3 or higher.
However, please be aware that your scanner isn't supported by SilverFast on Vista:
https://www.silverfast.com/product/Minolta/433/en.html

I doubt situation will change, because while we get the thing running in our own tests, the drivers are obviously not up to the task, and produce hideous stripe-like image defects that don't occur on XP systems.
The same holds true in our test for Dimagescan, and unfortunately I am afraid that no driver update will ever come from Minolta. Although I of course hope, I will be proven to be mistaken here.

Best regards
Sonny Noack
- Manager Technical Support, LaserSoft Imaging AG -

courtneydidit
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 3:42 am

Postby courtneydidit » Fri Feb 22, 2008 4:29 am

Perhaps with Vista SP1 did they fix their stuff?

Worth a shot I guess, will try and post back.


Return to “Minolta”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest