Job Manager Crashes

All the problems with Microtek film scanners

jhandy
Visitor
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2003 9:39 pm
Location: Washington DC

Job Manager Crashes

Postby jhandy » Mon Mar 20, 2006 4:42 am

Dear SilverFast,

I?m having trouble with the job manager In SilverFast Ai when I?m scanning multiple color slides with my ArtixScan 4000tf scanner. I?m using the SilverFast Launcher, and not the plug-in. I?m running Windows XP Home. My SilverFast version is 6-4-3r6.

When it works right, the scanner scans all 4 images and stops. When I remove the tray to reload it, the pre-scan window goes blank until the tray is reinserted into the scanner, and then the original pre-scanned image reappears. I hit the start button and everything works fine.

About every third tray, however, it?s different. When I remove the tray, the pre-scanned image stays in the pre-scan window ? it does not go blank. If I reinsert the tray and hit start, every frame comes up with a red LED. If I shut down SilverFast and restart it, I see a dialogue screen telling me that no scanner is installed. The only way to scan another tray is to restart the computer. This is happening very (too) regularly.

Can you please help?

Thanks,

John
:oops:

jhandy
Visitor
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2003 9:39 pm
Location: Washington DC

No Reply Yet From SilverFast

Postby jhandy » Tue Apr 04, 2006 2:15 am

Would it be possible to get a reply to my question of March 20th????

User avatar
RAG
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master
Posts: 761
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:59 am
Location: Sonoma County, California

Postby RAG » Thu Apr 06, 2006 5:34 pm

jhandy,

One thing you might try is to install the current version (6.4.3r9). (Make sure you have the install source for the previous version in case you decide you want to revert. I have never reverted to a previous version yet.)
Member in good standing - NAPP
A picture is worth a thousand words! :-)

jhandy
Visitor
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2003 9:39 pm
Location: Washington DC

Postby jhandy » Fri Apr 07, 2006 12:14 am

Actually, RAG, I mis-typed. 6.4.3r9 is what I have been running. The problem continues......

Thanks for trying to help. Do you think SilverFast might answer?

User avatar
RAG
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master
Posts: 761
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:59 am
Location: Sonoma County, California

Postby RAG » Fri Apr 07, 2006 3:44 am

Have you tried resetting SilverFast by deleting the Prefs? If you aren't familiar with them they are located C:\Documents and Settings\[your logon name]\Application Data\Lasersoft Imaging\SilverFast\Prefs

Just delete the contents of this folder and then start SilverFast again.
Member in good standing - NAPP

A picture is worth a thousand words! :-)

PM
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 7:43 am

Postby PM » Sat May 06, 2006 3:55 pm

Hi all!

I have the same scanner and I have the same problem. I will try the solution with the preferences. BTW this happens with many versions of silverfast.

@ jhandy

Did the solution solve your problem?

CU

PM

PM
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 7:43 am

Job Manager crashes with 4000 TF: Problem still exists

Postby PM » Mon May 15, 2006 11:57 am

Hi all!

I have deleted all files with the ending *.prf in this directory (BTW You could have told that then all setting are lost...). The filers with ending *.xpl I didn?t delete...

Result: The problem still exist!!! EACH (!!!) first job manager run gonna crash and then I have to remove the negative tray, insert it again and then do all steps again of the job manager again.

Any solution available?

CU

PM

PS: Win XP SP 2, Silverfast Ai 6.4.3r9

jhandy
Visitor
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2003 9:39 pm
Location: Washington DC

Deleting Prefs Didn't Help

Postby jhandy » Wed Nov 29, 2006 3:47 am

I haven?t responded for several months because I?ve not been able to spend time scanning slides. I?ve started back, and tried RAG?s recommendation to delete the entire Prefs folder. It did NOT work.

So let?s review what?s happening. I?m using the SilverFast Launcher (not the plug-in) with a Microtek ArtixScan 4000tf. I?m using Job Manager to scan one 4-slide tray at a time. For the first tray, everything works fine. For the second tray, everything works fine. When I remove the tray after the second job, the pre-scan window does NOT revert to the non-slide image as it usually does, and if I load a third job, SilverFast says it can?t find the scanner. When I close SilverFast and restart it, the program won?t launch because it can?t find the scanner. When I attempt to restart Windows, it takes an incredibly long time, frequently saying that Explorer.Exe and HiddenFaxWindow both need to be manually shut down. When I get to the ?Windows XP Logging Off? screen, it hangs until I shut off the power strip.

So every second tray, I have to go through that painful dance. This is not what I bought SilverFast for.

Speaking of that, I?ve got to say that SilverFast?s customer support had taken a serious nosedive since I started using it a couple of years ago. It used to be that LaserSoft would respond to forum posts within a week, and with genuine concern and helpfulness. Today, they don?t respond at all. I appreciate RAG?s advice, but would like to get this problem fixed.

I used to recommend SilverFast to lots of people who asked me about it. I don?t do that any more.
:evil:


Return to “Microtek”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests