Descreen settings Microtek 120tf

All the problems with Microtek film scanners

MicroSF6
SilverFast User
SilverFast User
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 4:30 pm

Descreen settings Microtek 120tf

Postby MicroSF6 » Fri Jan 02, 2004 8:40 pm

According to a online tutorial by Ian Lyons, the Descreening Parameters
need to be set. Quote "Choose a "Screen" value at or just below the
actual scan resolution. I show 3900ppi in the following example but quite often I simply choose 4000ppi." End Quote.
When I set the scanner to scan 4000dpi the Screen value will only allow
a setting of 2000 max.
Film=120 6x6
Scanner setting- 2.1x2.0 100.0%/ output 2.1x2.0 @4000dpi.
Silverfast 6.0.2r31
Also, SDR will not give a preview unless a 2000dpi setting or less is chosen in the scan resolution settings. :(

User avatar
LSI_Rossee
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 12:14 pm
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Postby LSI_Rossee » Mon Jan 05, 2004 4:01 pm

Dear MicroSF6.

When using descreen you define the physical resolution of the input. Silverfast permits the max. double of the physical input resolution for the output resolution. If you achieve a higher output-resolution than the max. double physical input resolution (--> screen resolution )by scaling than the the value jumps back automatically.
I hope I could be of help.

Kind regards.

MicroSF6
SilverFast User
SilverFast User
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 4:30 pm

Still unclear

Postby MicroSF6 » Mon Jan 12, 2004 11:24 pm

Thank You for your reply to my post. But I am still unclear as to your use of the term input resolution. I believe it to mean the resolution you choose to scan your material at. Once again referring to the tutorial by Ial Lyons in it he also states he is using a Polaroid SS-120 scanner basicially the Microtek 120tf as it built for Polaroid by Microtek,Both 4000 dpi optical scanners, now released as Microtek's own 120tf.
Scaling at 100% 4000dpi Q-factor 1.
He was able to set his screen setting at or at just below the scan resolution of 4000dpi. This also does not explain why I can not get the SDR to give me a preview at an input setting of 4000dpi, I must reset to 2000dpi or less to make it work.
Sorry to hound on this point but any additional help would be appreciated.
Much Thanks Again! :roll:

Wanderer
Visitor
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 2:54 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

settings

Postby Wanderer » Wed Jan 16, 2008 1:16 pm

Hi,

I am trying to find settings to reduce grain aliasing. However, when I try the Descreen and USM filter settings the two screens are filled with black no matter where I select on the colour transparency. I therefore have no idea what the software is doing. I have the same result when I use the Gane filter.

I have removed silvefast and reinstalled.

Would you please list the settings that I should use. I have been scanning MF Provia at 3200 dpi.

Thanks,


Wanderer

Wanderer
Visitor
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 2:54 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Does anyone from Silverfast follow and respond to these

Postby Wanderer » Thu Jan 24, 2008 5:38 pm

forums?

Wanderer

Wanderer
Visitor
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 2:54 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby Wanderer » Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:10 pm

Since Silverfast appears to be unable or unwilling to help me resolve my problem, can anyone suggest another website where I might get some help?

Thanks,


Wanderer
www.colinconwayphotography.com

Johannes
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 8:51 pm

Postby Johannes » Sun Feb 17, 2008 8:51 pm

Hi Wanderer, i once or twice used the GANE-Filter successfully on my Silverfast/Microtek-Installation (XP). No problems with black screens here. Maybe try an other Computer with different graphhics-hardware/drivers.

I decided not to use GANE because as every filter, some little image-sharpness is lost too, although Grain is successfully reduced. I always scan with full physical 4000dpi and reduce resolution later if needed (screen-presentation etc.). i plan to use Silverfast HDR to scan an image only once. i hate rescanning because of all adjustments.

To avoid the strongest Grain, maybe a fast exposure speed 1/125 or faster could help a bit.

Wanderer
Visitor
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 2:54 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby Wanderer » Mon Feb 18, 2008 5:19 pm

Thanks, Johannes,

The first post in this thread refers to Ian Lyons' tutorial for reducing grain aliasing - this what I want to do, but I cannot get an image in the screens. These are white now!

Wanderer
www.colinconwayphotography.com


Return to “Microtek”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest