Silverfast v6.4.2r2b / Scanmaker i900 problems

flatbed scanners for Microtek

cdaniel
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 6:18 pm
Location: Florida
Contact:

Silverfast v6.4.2r2b / Scanmaker i900 problems

Postby cdaniel » Fri Jul 06, 2007 6:50 pm

I've run the ICC profiler numerous times for reflective. The color looks pretty good, and the prescan image is close regarding brightness / contrast. However, when I do the scan the result is very, very dark - nothing like the prescan image. Yes, I know how to adjust the scan, but I shouldn't have to adjust this much - it is massively dark and takes more time. You can see an example below.

http://portraitartist.com/silverfast.jpg

I would appreciate any help.

Cynthia

User avatar
LSI_Noack
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:30 pm
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Postby LSI_Noack » Mon Jul 09, 2007 4:04 pm

Dear cdaniel

looks like you did run the "Microtek ICC profiler" utility on scans scanned by SilverFast in HDR scan mode. Thus gamma value adjustment (which isn't performed for HDR scans) might be the source of the issue here.

Please either use the SilverFast internal IT8 calibration tool, or, if using SF the generate an HDR scan for calibration purposes with a third party app, please don't forget to set > options > general > for HDR option to enabled.

Best regards
Sonny Noack
- Manager Technical Support, LaserSoft Imaging AG -

cdaniel
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 6:18 pm
Location: Florida
Contact:

Postby cdaniel » Tue Jul 10, 2007 2:42 pm

Please either use the SilverFast internal IT8 calibration tool


Is there something that specifically says "IT8 calibration tool?" Or is it just a combination of all the settings that I find under Options? I don't really see something called "IT8 calibration tool." Where would that be?

I did check the box that says "for HDR output" - it also wanted me to select an ICM profile for reflective - I selected "Microtek Generic Profile / Reflective" since I did not see my scanner listed.

or, if using SF the generate an HDR scan for calibration purposes with a third party app, please don't forget to set > options > general > for HDR option to enabled.


I know nothing about 3rd party apps and would not begin to know what to search for. Perhaps you can make suggestions. However, if I have it working without that, this would be preferable.

Please realize that I don't really know all the terminolgy - ICM, HDR, IT8, threshold, frame inset, ACR, Midpip, Realtime correction, Q-factor - it's all a mystery to me what these words mean.

Realtime correction is checked "on" by the way and I have no clue what that means.

Also my gamma correction is set to 1.8. How does that sound to you?

Is there somewhere that I can do that is a primer on all this terminology?

LSI_Muenier
SilverFast Expert
SilverFast Expert
Posts: 351
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2002 1:00 am

Postby LSI_Muenier » Mon Aug 13, 2007 2:42 pm

Dear cdaniel,

what is your prescan and scan result when you switch off color management? (i.e. go to the Options "CMS" panel and set Input->Internal to NONE and set the ICC profiles for reflective and transmissive to NONE, too)

Best regards
Martin


Return to “Microtek”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests