Can't Prescan- Artixscan 1800f

flatbed scanners for Microtek

choifoto
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2003 5:40 pm

Can't Prescan- Artixscan 1800f

Postby choifoto » Thu Mar 06, 2003 6:23 pm

When I prescan a 4x5 transparency, the scan head begins to travel but then stops and the scanner makes a horrible buzzing noise. The prescan looks distorted, elongated, extruded.
Scan mode works just fine. This doesn't happen when I am using the scanner with Microtek ScanWizard.

I'm on Mac OS 10.2.4 and PS 7

LSI_Support
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 491
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2001 1:00 am

Postby LSI_Support » Wed Mar 19, 2003 5:47 pm

check the download section for updates on your SilverFast.

nuphot
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2003 11:03 pm

Postby nuphot » Thu Mar 20, 2003 11:10 pm

I seem to have the same problem as choifoto's: I tried pre-scanning some reflective image, the scanner would start and made a weird loud buzz then would just produce a block of rainbowy stripy colors. I then tried download the update for Silverfast 6., however after I install the new updated version it happened again, exactly the same thing: weird loud buzz and stripy block of color as result of pre-scan! What could be the problem? Help please!! :(

nuphot
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2003 11:03 pm

It's ok now!

Postby nuphot » Wed Mar 26, 2003 10:39 pm

:D I restarted the system after installing the update for my Silverfast 6.0 and it seems to work fine now! (cross my fingers still!)

ciprianoalgor
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 9:27 am

Postby ciprianoalgor » Sun Jan 30, 2005 8:20 pm

i know that this thread is long out of date, but almost two years later, with a new microtek 1800f and the latest version of silverfast ai studio at the time 6.2.1r1 i was having the same problem. i installed and unistalled several times. i knew that it had to be silverfast, b/c v**s**n and the microtek driver both produced fine scans. but i don't like v**s**n and the microtek driver stopped recognizing my scanner ater the second scan. silverfast was a better app but i couldn't get it to not give me a melted rainbow as a prescan. it had to be silverfast, yet i would doubt myself, b/c searching and searching this forum for others with similar problems i never found this thread and i wondered how i could be the only one with the problem. the scanner would make some noises, and then the scan head would fly down the bed, and i'd get a smear of color, almost as if the prescan was moving too fast for the software to catch up, to be able to process the information so quickly, but i was at a loss. i thought it had to do with rotation of the prescan, b/c i was getting some normal scans after i changed a few things but while trying to calibrate, more rainbows in prescan. BUT, at one point, while calibrating, i also set precan quality to 2x or 3x, so i could zoom in to line up the frame border, and everything was ok. THE SOLUTION: set prescan quality in options to greater than 1x, this slows down the scan head and everything is ok, nice prescans!


Return to “Microtek”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest