ArtixScan 2020 and OSX 10.4.6

flatbed scanners for Microtek

Woody
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 11:02 am

ArtixScan 2020 and OSX 10.4.6

Postby Woody » Thu Apr 13, 2006 11:13 am

Since my system software update I have been experiencing the following problem:

The Silverfast panel opens up fine but when the prescan button is pressed a message box 'Preparing scan' appears. Then nothing happens, just the spinning beachball.

I have downloaded and installed all the latest drivers etc but to no avail.

How can I fix this problem?

Woody

User avatar
LSI_Noack
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:30 pm
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Postby LSI_Noack » Thu Apr 13, 2006 1:10 pm

Dear Woody

please try if deleting the SilverFast prefs folder will help.
You can most easily do this with help of the SilverFast Service Dialogue.

Best regards
Sonny Noack
- Manager Technical Support, LaserSoft Imaging AG -

Woody
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 11:02 am

Postby Woody » Thu Apr 13, 2006 1:56 pm

Thanks for the prompt reply Sonny, it is much appreciated.

However, I have followed your advice and deleted the SF prefs (twice now) and I still have the same problem.

I did manage a scan in the meantime by skipping the prescan stage, not ideal but at least the Mac is talking to the scanner. I did try this trick a second time but got the 'preparing scan' message and the ball once again.

Woody

User avatar
LSI_Noack
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:30 pm
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Postby LSI_Noack » Thu Apr 13, 2006 2:22 pm

Dear Woody

this might be a communications problem.
Can it be you're using this scanner via SCSI with an Adaptec SCSI card?
Cf. <a href="http://www.silverfast.com/faq/1002/en.html#adaptec">this FAQ entry</a>.

Best regards
Sonny Noack
- tech support, LSI AG -

Woody
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 11:02 am

Postby Woody » Thu Apr 13, 2006 2:33 pm

The SCSI card is an ATTO ExpressPCI UL4S not an Adaptec one but I guess it could still be a similar problem.

To fix this seems more than a bit 'tricky' then?

Woody

User avatar
LSI_Noack
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:30 pm
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Postby LSI_Noack » Thu Apr 13, 2006 3:00 pm

Dear Woody

can be. However, I haven't heard yet of unusual trouble with SCSI cards from Attotech. You might want to ask their support persons if the UL4S is "tiger ready"...

Also, you might want to give the 'hacking' solution as described in the FAQ entry a try. Happy Easter :)

Best regards
Sonny Noack
- Manager Technical Support, LaserSoft Imaging AG -


Return to “Microtek”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest