ArtixScan 1800f color issue

flatbed scanners for Microtek

User avatar
TwoPynts
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 4:29 pm
Scanner: Microtek ArtixScan 1800f
SilverFast Product: Ai
SilverFast Version: 6.0

ArtixScan 1800f color issue

Postby TwoPynts » Thu Aug 20, 2009 4:55 pm

I am using said scanner on my G5 PowerMac running OS X 10.3.9 and importing through the Photoshop CS1 plugin. Siverfast Ai 6.1.0r5.

I am have trouble getting a nice dynamic range of color in my scans and the color cast is off a bit as well.
I run the Auto Image optimization and then try and tweak it using the Histogram. Even with this, the levels seem to be clipped with not as much detail as I would expect in the shadows and highlights.

I lost the original calibration image but since that works with MicroTek's Scanwizard Pro software (yuck) I am not sure I even need it.
Does anyone have any advice for calibrating the scanner?
Thanks.

LSI_Muenier
SilverFast Expert
SilverFast Expert
Posts: 351
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2002 1:00 am

Re: ArtixScan 1800f color issue

Postby LSI_Muenier » Fri Aug 21, 2009 11:02 am

Dear TwoPynts,

as you use SilverFast version 6.1.0r5 it seems to me that you have used the scanner already a long time with SilverFast.
Is your observation about image quality new (i.e. has something changed in this respect) or is it like at the beginning?

Best regards
Martin

User avatar
TwoPynts
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 4:29 pm
Scanner: Microtek ArtixScan 1800f
SilverFast Product: Ai
SilverFast Version: 6.0

Re: ArtixScan 1800f color issue

Postby TwoPynts » Fri Aug 21, 2009 2:15 pm

LSI_Muenier wrote:as you use SilverFast version 6.1.0r5 it seems to me that you have used the scanner already a long time with SilverFast.
Is your observation about image quality new (i.e. has something changed in this respect) or is it like at the beginning?

Good point. Yes, I've been using it for a while for graphic design purposes.
The image quality was better initially. I believe I performed a calibration when first using it.
As years passed, the scanned images degraded in quality, becoming overly contrasty in highlights and shadows and loosing detail there as well. I usually have to push my midrange selector closer to the shadow area that I would think necessary to bring out more detail and dynamic range.

Perhaps I have a calibration issue or some setting that needs adjusting. Come to think of it, I had to change the lamp once, and never re-calibrated. Now I've lost that calibration card so am not sure what to do. Suggestions?
Thank you.

LSI_Muenier
SilverFast Expert
SilverFast Expert
Posts: 351
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2002 1:00 am

Re: ArtixScan 1800f color issue

Postby LSI_Muenier » Fri Aug 21, 2009 3:53 pm

Dear TwoPynts,

are you sure that your current lamp is okay? Maybe check it again?
For testing purposes, please switch off color management in the Option's CMS panel,
and set the histogram and gradation settings to default (i.e. click the "Reset" buttons there).
Then no clipping should occur.

Best regards
Martin


Return to “Microtek”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest