Scan Positive Film Strips on RFS 3600?

All the problems with Kodak film scanners

User avatar
Bill Wood
SilverFast Professional
SilverFast Professional
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2001 1:00 am
Scanner: Epson 10000XL
Plustek 8200i
Plustek 120
SilverFast Product: Archive Suite
Location: Barstow, California USA
Contact:

Postby Bill Wood » Sun Dec 09, 2001 4:30 pm

I need to scan unmounted color reversal film in strips of six frames on the Kodak RFS 3600 film scanner using Silverfast Ai 5.5, Or 13. I use Photoshop 6.01 on my Windows 2000 equipped Dell Precision Workstation 620 with 1 GB of RAM.

When I insert a strip of film Silverfast switches to the negative mode. The Negafix window film type does not allow setting a reversal film such as Kodak Ektachrome. If I try to change the Pos/Neg Mode to Positive on the General menu, Windows2000 throws up an error message stating "Photoshp.exe has generated errors and will be closed by Windows. You will need to restart the program."

Is there anyway I can scan positive film strips without getting the program to shutdown? I always specify "do not mount" when I have Fuji or Kodak process my transparency film.

Bill Wood

LSI_Support
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 491
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2001 1:00 am

Postby LSI_Support » Wed Dec 12, 2001 9:43 am

Dear Bill,
this Photoshop.exe error occurs in our tests occasionally with any sort of scanner. We found an explanation in the the Photoshop settings. Make sure your assigned in Photoshops Preferences > memory&image cache approx. 65% of the existing RAM memory to Photoshop, and - if applicable - assing at least one more partition/drive as scratch disk volume.
With this optimization the Photoshop.exe error is far less likely to occur.

User avatar
Bill Wood
SilverFast Professional
SilverFast Professional
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2001 1:00 am
Scanner: Epson 10000XL
Plustek 8200i
Plustek 120
SilverFast Product: Archive Suite
Location: Barstow, California USA
Contact:

Postby Bill Wood » Thu Dec 13, 2001 6:08 pm

When I first got the PS Error my PS Preference settings were:
Available RAM: 954706K
Used by PS: 75%
PS Ram: 716029K
I have a seperate hard drive specified for the scratch disk (D:)

After resetting the RAM settings to:
Used by PS: 65%
PS RAM: 620558K

After restarting Photoshop I got the same error when I attempted to close the Negafix window and also when I tried to change the Silverfast scanning mode to Positive.

Here is the twain.log report after the error:
TWAIN_32.DLL - MESSAGE - CTwunk ::AppInitialize - Reset Log

TWAIN_32.DLL - MESSAGE - CTwunk ::OpenServer - Starting Thunker

TWAIN_32.DLL - MESSAGE - CTwunk ::CloseServer - Why Can't We Find The Thunker Window?

It appears that this version of Silverfast (Or 13) can not switch over to scanning a positive film strip without generating this error and aborting Photoshop 6.01

Bill


<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Bill Wood on 2001-12-13 18:13 ]</font>

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Bill Wood on 2001-12-13 18:15 ]</font>

User avatar
Bill Wood
SilverFast Professional
SilverFast Professional
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2001 1:00 am
Scanner: Epson 10000XL
Plustek 8200i
Plustek 120
SilverFast Product: Archive Suite
Location: Barstow, California USA
Contact:

Postby Bill Wood » Sat Dec 15, 2001 12:47 am

Herr Kohler

At the time I encountered the Photoshop error when switching the Silverfast PS plug-in from negative to positive (dia) scanning I had three other Silverfast versions installed on my computer. The 5.5 Or13 twain version for the RFS 3600 and a PS plug-in and a twain version of Silverfast Ai 5.2 for the Epson 636 Expression flatbed scanner. I also had the Kodak RFS 3600, version 2.1 beta driver installed.

I was able to get the 5.5 Or 13 twain SF driver to scan positive (dia) film strips without a problem. When I switched to the 5.5 Or 13 PS plug-in, the error returned.

Next I uninstalled all Silverfast drivers, both twain and PS plug-in for both the RFS 3600 and the Epson 636. I also uninstalled the Kodak drivers and all subdirectories as leftover files in preparation for a completely new Silverfast Ai 5.5 Or13 installation.

Then I used the Silverfast Ai 5.5 distribution CD to install the Photoshop Plug-in version. That worked correctly without an error both positive and negative film strip scanning.

Then I installed the Kodak REFS 3600 version 2.1 driver. Both the SF PS driver and the Kodak driver worked properly. Next I installed the Epson 636 SF PS plug-in. It worked properly. The SF and Kodak drivers continued to work properly. Finally I installed the Silverfast Ai 5.5, Or 13, twain driver. All drivers continued to work properly without error.

I should point out that when I plugged my Zio Smartmedia reader into the computer USB bus I experienced the same Blue Screen error that I reported on in an earlier post to this forum. When I unplugged the Zio reader the problem went away. This is a hardware conflict between the Silverfast Ai 5.5, Or13 for the RFS 3600 and the Zio reader.

At this time everything works correctly. I can only assume that one or more files was corrupted causing the problem when switching the Silverfast Ai 5.5, Or13, PS plug-in from negative to positive.

Bill


<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Bill Wood on 2001-12-15 00:48 ]</font>


Return to “Kodak”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests