Resolution options in Scan dimensions Preset and Slider

General topics about imaging

pkr1979
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 31, 2016 2:24 pm
Scanner: Epson V700
SilverFast Product: SE

Resolution options in Scan dimensions Preset and Slider

Postby pkr1979 » Wed Mar 08, 2017 2:30 pm

Hi all,

I am not entirely sure what the purpose of the Preset function in the Scan dimensions is? And can this be changed later?

I am scanning 8x10" sheet film mostly and in Epson Scan I scanned them at 1200 DPI, which is what I would like to do in SilverFast as well.
As far as I understand I am setting the resolution slider at 1200... but at what setting would I set the Preset? 300? or 1200? As of today I dont know at what dimensions I will print a specific photo in (probably several different dimensions), so why would I decide on that now while scanning?

Anyway, if I select 300 in the preset am I then stuck with that number? And whats the backside of selecting 1200... the same as Ive set the slider too? Does that mean I can't print at 300dpi later on?

For some reason I am keen to set the preset at 1200 as the slider. Furthermore, I am doing all my scans as Positives (even negatives), at 48 Bit HDR RAW, turned off Auto Sharpness (why is this even on as default?!) in preferences.

Ive also turned off HiRePP and I am keen to set iSRD, ME and Dock Widget slider to zero as well as I am not really sure what they are doing? What I want in general is a linear scan with as much information as possible.

Cheers
Peter

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4265
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Resolution options in Scan dimensions Preset and Slider

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Wed Mar 08, 2017 4:33 pm

Dear Peter,

The Preset, together with the Output/Format size, can be used to calculate the necessary scan resolution for a certain print size and resolution.

The slider itself defines the actual scan resolution.

The preset is also saved in the image metadata as the base display/print resolution for use by other software.

Kind regards,
Arne

pkr1979
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 31, 2016 2:24 pm
Scanner: Epson V700
SilverFast Product: SE

Re: Resolution options in Scan dimensions Preset and Slider

Postby pkr1979 » Wed Mar 08, 2017 5:25 pm

Hi,

Thanks. But as I dont know today what kind of print size I'll use, what should I then set the Preset resolution too?

Whats the pros/cons to setting that too 300? Or to 1200 (the same as scan size)?

And, is iSRD and ME (under preferences) relevant when scanning RAW? As far as I can see in the other menus these things are not active.

Cheers
Peter

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4265
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Resolution options in Scan dimensions Preset and Slider

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:25 am

Dear Peter,

It does not really matter. The Preset is only for calculation and for metadata. If you do not which to do that you can simply ignore the setting or simply set it to the scan resolution.

Kind regards,
Arne

pkr1979
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 31, 2016 2:24 pm
Scanner: Epson V700
SilverFast Product: SE

Re: Resolution options in Scan dimensions Preset and Slider

Postby pkr1979 » Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:50 pm

Thanks!
Cheers :-)

emilioca
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 2:09 pm
Scanner: Plustek 8200

Re: Resolution options in Scan dimensions Preset and Slider

Postby emilioca » Fri May 26, 2017 2:51 pm

Hello,
Sorry for my English...
I am trying to understand what you have mentioned before.
I do not understand the difference between "Preset" and "Resolution"
Yesterday I scanned a negative and I put Resolution 7200 ppi and got into Preset 7 ppi, I could not put there 7200.
However the final file is over 300 megs and huge dimensions.
What is the real resolution of the file since windows informs in details that the file has only 7 ppi when it is seen that the image has very good definition.
Thank you
emilioca

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4265
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Resolution options in Scan dimensions Preset and Slider

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Fri May 26, 2017 3:01 pm

Dear emilioca

The Preset is being used to calculate a resolution.
Herefor the Preset is set to the display/print/output resolution and a size is selected.
This will be used to calculate the necessary resolution.
The Scan resolution itself is always defined by the resolution slider.
ME must be activated during scanning while iSRD is done in post processing by SilverFast HDR (Studio).

Kind regards,
Arne


Return to “Imaging in general”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests