properly exposed slides scan black

General topics about imaging

JABrown
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 4:36 am
Scanner: Epson V800
SilverFast Product: SE

properly exposed slides scan black

Postby JABrown » Fri Sep 11, 2015 5:00 am

Properly exposed slides are totally black in prescan and as scans. They are not underexposed a stop or two--they are totally black. Writing on slide mounts turn out properly exposed.

Details: Epson V800; OS X 10.10 - both brand new
I have tried tired both WorkFlow Pilot and Manual
My WorkFlow Pilot dialog gives only two source choices: Print and Photo
In Manual work flow I have selected "Positive" as source
48-24 bit selected (and NOT 48- or 24-bit HDR)
AUTO CCR has been played with--no effect
I have tried using slide holder and placing slides directly on glass.
I have attempted to adjust histogram post pre-scan--virtually no effect because slide image is totally dark.
I have re-started SilverFast numerous times.

JAB

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4265
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: properly exposed slides scan black

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Mon Sep 14, 2015 3:55 pm

Dear JAB,

The HDR(i) RAW format would cause very dark scans. These are raw archive files which are saved without any gamma adjustment.
Does the light in the transparency unit (in the lid) light up correctly?
Does EPSON Scan utility produce normal scans?

Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn

learningful
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 8:56 pm
Scanner: Epson V700
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: properly exposed slides scan black

Postby learningful » Tue Feb 14, 2017 9:19 pm

I am having the same problem. Having selected "Slide" and "48 --> 24 Bit" from the Workflow Pilot, and pressing Continue, the software performs a prescan, but activates the lower lens on my Epson V700, not the upper lens. I am on a 27" iMac with the latest version of El Capitan installed. Thanks

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4265
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: properly exposed slides scan black

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Fri Feb 17, 2017 5:25 pm

Dear user,

did you switch from reflective mode to transparency mode?
The lamp in use is selected by this.

Kind regards,
Arne


Return to “Imaging in general”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest