General topics about imaging

GitAmager1
Visitor
Scanner: Epson Perfection V750 Pro
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Kodachrome targets

Postby GitAmager1 » Thu Nov 24, 2011 4:50 pm

Urgent!!!
I got the message that the last Kodachrome targets are being sold. I am a newbie and in doubt as to wether I need them or not (am going to scan a lot old kodachrome slides and want to get the best result possible). I use the Epson Perfection V750 Pro and just bougth the Silverfast Ai Studio Version 8. Are the targets included in my SilverFast software? Maybe as a plugin? If not, I find it difficult to see why they are being discontinued as there must be zillions of Kodachrome slides lying about waiting to be scanned.
Urgent since they may be sold out in a very short time!
Thanking you in advance, GitAmager!

LSI_Morales
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master

Re: Kodachrome targets

Postby LSI_Morales » Thu Nov 24, 2011 5:52 pm

Hi there

GitAmager1 wrote: Are the targets included in my SilverFast software? Maybe as a plugin?

No, targets are not included in the software

GitAmager1 wrote:I find it difficult to see why they are being discontinued as there must be zillions of Kodachrome slides lying about waiting to be scanned.

Because Kodachrome is practically non-existent anymore. We had the last roles worldwide (as far as we know) and these are the last batch of targets

Cheers
Alejandro Morales

LaserSoft Imaging
Media manager, Software testing

GitAmager1
Visitor

Postby GitAmager1 » Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:19 pm

Thanks. At least I got my problem solved.
But I had read that SilverFast did produce its own Kodachrome Targets. That is why I did not understand that the last batch was being sold out now because the old slides are still out there even if Kodak itself is disappearing. Or are the targets that are up for sale a batch from Kodak itself?
GitAmager1

LSI_Morales
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master

Postby LSI_Morales » Fri Nov 25, 2011 8:29 am

Hi GitAmager