Can not apply Gamma gradation change in HDR

General topics about imaging

bobbyabc
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2018 6:46 pm
Scanner: V750, ProScan 10T
SilverFast Product: SE

Can not apply Gamma gradation change in HDR

Postby bobbyabc » Sun Jul 15, 2018 6:53 pm

HI

I use Silverfast 8 SE for scanning HDR for years, usually apply 0.85 - 1.00 gamma on scanning B/W films as negative, I recently installed Silverfast on my new Window 10 PC and found that I can not apply any Gamma gradation change in any files. For example I use different gamma rate but they all have the same result on brightness on all files(they are all result in overexpose) . Anyone could help? (I already run the program as administrator)

Thanks
Bobby

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Can not apply Gamma gradation change in HDR

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Wed Jul 18, 2018 9:37 am

Dear Bobby,

The HDR(i) RAW format is meant to be an unchanged archive format. The Gamma is not supposed to be applied to it.
This was possible in an earlier version. But that caused issues and loss in dynamic range and was therefore removed.

Kind regards,


Return to “Imaging in general”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest