Silverfast 6.6 and Howtek scanners Log mode

flatbed scanners for Howtek

Armando_Vergara
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 5:54 am

Silverfast 6.6 and Howtek scanners Log mode

Postby Armando_Vergara » Tue May 05, 2015 6:03 am

Hello guys,
I am writing regarding an issue with Silverfast version 6.6 for the Howtek scanners series. Based on my tests of the demo and what I read in an exchange in the forum, it appears the developers are missing one important hardware feature in the scanners. All the Howtek scanners include the hardware to allow the selection of either linear or logarithmic mode. Physically, the scanners hardware includes a logarithmic amplifier in front of the ADC that can be selected via software by the firmware instead of the regular Linear. More information regarding the design can be found in the US patent 5'237'172.

Here are other useful links:

Forum exchange --> post29972.html#p29972
Howtek's API --> ftp://12.70.252.178/Onyx-RAD/Howtek/Tool%20Kit/

Please let me know if the issue can be resolved.

Thanks so much,
Armando

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Silverfast 6.6 and Howtek scanners Log mode

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Tue May 05, 2015 2:17 pm

Dear Armando,

I will forward your request to our product management.

Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

Armando_Vergara
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 5:54 am

Re: Silverfast 6.6 and Howtek scanners Log mode

Postby Armando_Vergara » Tue May 05, 2015 7:38 pm

Thanks Arne. Let me add I personally own several models if any testing is need it.


Return to “Howtek”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests