Circon is seen but can't keep the connection

flatbed scanners for Linotype

nsnape
Visitor
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 11:33 pm
Contact:

Circon is seen but can't keep the connection

Postby nsnape » Fri Jan 31, 2003 11:44 pm

:( I just downloaded the SF 6,01 for the Circon. I was so hoping that it'd work. Alas, not in Jaguar Quicksilver 867 all the latest firmware etc.. The scanner is seen with the Adaptec 2906 card in system profiler. SF starts up and of course installed fine. The overview scan starts but blocks at about 10 cm across the bed. After the scanner is dropping the connection and is no longer found. I doubt that it is the card, as I've used it on other SCSI devices in OsX in the past. IT also works perfectly with Linocolor in OS9. What could it be?
PS it's the only device on the end of the chain and is actively terminated.

nsnape
Visitor
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 11:33 pm
Contact:

Postby nsnape » Sat Feb 01, 2003 12:26 am

Spoke too soon. Fiddled with the SCSI cable unplugged and replugged the terminator in, rebooted and launched the stand alone. It now works albeit a few UI bugs so far.Happy to be scanning in OSX finally.
For any others I'll have to say that the SCSI connections are even more important than ever to verify the term, cable condition and contacts. Granite Digital has the finest cables around and they ship worldwide. Just a thought. :D

nsnape
Visitor
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 11:33 pm
Contact:

Postby nsnape » Mon May 05, 2003 11:10 pm

8) The r17 version has fixed almost all problems with connectivity. If the scanner is turned on at boot time, Silverfast continues to work even after many deep sleep cycles. Bravo Lasersoft. Hope the middle lens for the Circon will be available soon too. I just had about 30 full page magazine work published from 120 format negatives and everything worked out fine, scanned on SF V6,02.


Return to “Heidelberg (ex Linotype)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests