Changing the filename

SilverFast HDR Studio (48bit HDR processing)

Holger88
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:58 pm

Changing the filename

Postby Holger88 » Mon Jul 06, 2015 2:20 pm

I have a problem with the name structure.
1) I scan with SilverFast into a HDRi-RAW-file (eg 'abc.tif')
2) I open with HDR Studio (and close again).
3) I rename the file to 'def.tif'
4) If I open again with HDR studio and process the file (16 bit tif) then the new file name isn't derived from the new filename 'def.tif' as expected but the original on 'abc.tif'.

What's the reason for it and how i can avoid this?
I am not sure whether step 2) is necessary to reproduce the problem.

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Changing the filename

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Mon Jul 06, 2015 3:07 pm

Dear customer,

which operating system are you using?
Do you have the latest SilverFast update installed?
I can not reproduce your issue with our current version (8.5.0r5).

Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

Holger88
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:58 pm

Re: Changing the filename

Postby Holger88 » Tue Jul 07, 2015 5:53 pm

I have 8.5.0r5 Build 14836 & Windows 8.1.
So it is the latest update.

I can reproduce the problem again and again.
It seems to have something to do with the name (help - info - general)
That name seems to be set while scanning and is used as default name when I process

A later change of filename is ignored and the original internal name is stronger.

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Changing the filename

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Fri Jul 10, 2015 3:20 pm

Did you maybe forget to change the name for all job entries?
Each entry has it's own settings which can be copied over.
Using the original name is the default if you do not use the auto numbering function.

Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn

Holger88
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:58 pm

Re: Changing the filename

Postby Holger88 » Fri Jul 10, 2015 4:43 pm

LSI_Ketelhohn wrote:Using the original name is the default

Even after renaming the original file? (external tool)

Holger88
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:58 pm

Re: Changing the filename

Postby Holger88 » Mon Jul 13, 2015 8:30 am

I did not change the path name (name & folder) within the TIF.
I would not expect this. Since this behaviour doesn't really allow me to rename my files.

Perhaps I don't get the positive effect of this.
But after I scan into folder A and filename B and move the scanned file to folder C and filename D then I would expect that the processed file of the TIF would be in C and the name has something to do with D. Wasn't by default an ' (%n)' added?
So several processed file should (depending on the extension) be named 'D', 'D (1)', 'D (2)' ...

Could you explain me a case when after renaming the original HDR file I should use the original filename and not the present one?

But I can also understand that changing this after many years would be problematic (work-flow for other users). Is there at least a way to reset filename & pathname in the TIFF header by a batch which I could run after renaming files?

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Changing the filename

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Tue Jul 14, 2015 8:11 am

Which tool did you use for renaming?

I did some tests simply renaming the images using the Operating system and did get the correct name.

Of cause external tools could behave in a away not expected by SilverFast.
HDR(i) files should never be processed in external tools because they could change or even damage the metadata.


Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn

Holger88
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:58 pm

Re: Changing the filename

Postby Holger88 » Tue Jul 14, 2015 4:30 pm

LSI_Ketelhohn wrote:Which tool did you use for renaming?

Total Commander

LSI_Ketelhohn wrote:I did some tests simply renaming the images using the Operating system and did get the correct name.

Me too - I also used now Windows Explorer. Same issue.
Are you sure that HDR Studio changed for you the name & path automatically? (rechts oben unter Bild-Dimensionen)

LSI_Ketelhohn wrote:Of cause external tools could behave in a away not expected by SilverFast.
HDR(i) files should never be processed in external tools because they could change or even damage the metadata.

I don't process them - i only rename them.
How can I rename the file with HDR Studio?

Kind regards,
Holger

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Changing the filename

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Wed Jul 15, 2015 4:19 pm

I am afraid this is some change that Total commander does.
It probably also processes the Metadata.
I would suggest using a different tool if this one causes you these troubles.
This is nothing we could fix on our side.
If an external tool changes the files in an unexpected way SilverFast HDR will not be able to handle them correctly.
We had similar issues with the IrfanView image viewer which changed the metadata even when an image is simply opened for viewing.
This however was fixed by the IrfanView developer.

I checked again and tested changing the name using the Windows explorer and again had no issues.
The file name was loaded correctly.
Did you maybe change the filename while the image was opened in SilverFast.
That of cause would not work.
You would have to reload the image from the VLT.
But that too showed the new name in my test.

Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Changing the filename

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Fri Jul 17, 2015 4:49 pm

Dear customer,

I have forwarded your case to our support system.
We will have to further examine this.
Like I said I have no issues at all renaming files.

Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn


Return to “HDR Studio (48bit HDR processing)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest