Post-Editing Options for HDR Output

All about SilverFast HDR and HiRepp (48bit HDR processing)

briank
SilverFast Beginner

Post-Editing Options for HDR Output

Postby briank » Sun Jan 18, 2009 9:30 pm

I am new to Silverfast so I apologize if this question is too basic or has been answered elsewhere (although I have spent some time looking).

I am trying to figure out what my workflow should be (with an Epson V750-M) and have some questions about the option to output to 48 bit HDR. I think I understand that this is simply raw, unprocessed (and in the case of a negative, un-inverted) information from the scanner, and I understand that the benefit of using this option is that, at least if you have SilverFastHDR, you can play around and get the image the way you like it post-scan, whereas the tools found in the SilverFast scanning programs have to be applied at the time of the scan and cannot be used after (at least on that scanned image).

With that, I have two questions: (1) What are the file format options when you use this option? TIFF, PSD, JPEG, something else? (2) in order to post-edit this HDR output from my scanner, is SilverFastHDR the only option, or can this output be read by, and edited in, the latest iteration of Adobe Camera Raw (whether attached to Photoshop, Photoshop Elements or Lightroom); (3) Without asking you to make a qualitative comparison between programs, is their a functional benefit to using SilverFast HDR rather than some other program?

Thank you.

LSI_Morales
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master

Re: Post-Editing Options for HDR Output

Postby LSI_Morales » Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:32 pm

Dear briank

briank wrote:I am new to Silverfast so I apologize if this question is too basic or has been answered elsewhere (although I have spent some time looking).