Toolbars not active and negative scan doesn't work

flatbed scanners for Epson

yojibee
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:56 pm
Scanner: Epson V700
SilverFast Product: SE

Toolbars not active and negative scan doesn't work

Postby yojibee » Sat Aug 30, 2014 2:05 pm

I have just bought an Epson V700 (with SilverFast 8 included) and was looking forward to finally scan all my old 35mm films lying around.
But SilverFast doesn't work correctly with the scanner.

All the tools and options are grayed out and not active, so I can't use them.
AutoCCR/Histogram/Gradiation/Global CC/Selective CC.
USM/iSRD/Grane.
They also don't come up as options when I try to scan using the WorkflowPilot.
The other settings, such as Scan dimension, Navigator, Picture settings and NegaFix are active and works.

Furthermore when I try to scan negatives, the images don't scan to positive images, but end up being a sort of dark version of the negatives themselves. The prescan and the preview seems to work just fine, it is when I hit the Scan button the problem starts.
I have set it to Transparency and Negative (including NegaFix) and I have made sure the cable connecting the top and the bottom on the scanner itself is connected.

I can scan using the Epson Scan software, so there is nothing wrong with the printer as such, but the problem seems to be with connecting the hardware with SilverFast.
Can anyone help me please?

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Toolbars not active and negative scan doesn't work

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Mon Sep 01, 2014 3:43 pm

Dear customer,

Please check if you might have one of the 48/64 Bit HDR(i) archive image formats or the "Archive" workflow selected.
These are saved unchanged for later processing in SilverFast Ai Studio.

Try using 48 ->24 and al functions including the negative to positive conversion should be available.

Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

yojibee
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:56 pm
Scanner: Epson V700
SilverFast Product: SE

Re: Toolbars not active and negative scan doesn't work

Postby yojibee » Tue Sep 02, 2014 9:11 am

Thank you so much, that did the trick!

And now that I have everything running, I have to say that I am very impressed with the quality of the scanned images.
Software does make a difference.

Kind regards,
Anne Kathrine Petterøe

oxonet
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 10:29 pm
Scanner: epson V700
SilverFast Product: SE

Re: Toolbars not active and negative scan doesn't work

Postby oxonet » Thu Oct 02, 2014 10:37 pm

Hello,
does it mean silverfast SE 8 provided with the epson V700 can't save a 16 bits tiff file with the same rendering i see on screen ?
actually I have to choose 8 bit tiff to scan BW negatives properly, if i choose HDR 16 bits the saved file as no correction and is really bad ...
why can't we just save 16 bits ( BW ) or 48 bits ( RVB ) finished tiff files ??? just like in any "professional" software ??
any upgrade needed to be abble to do that ??
Christophe


Return to “Epson”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest