Problem with scanning negatives at 16bit per channel

flatbed scanners for Epson

marcin wuu
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 8:54 pm
Scanner: Epson V700
SilverFast Product: SE

Problem with scanning negatives at 16bit per channel

Postby marcin wuu » Sat Jan 25, 2014 9:11 pm

Hello.
I just bought the v700 with silverfast bundled, and stumbled on a problem I cannot seem to resolve. When selecting 16bit/channel output, the scan is not inverted. It's like the scanner thinks it's in reversal film mode. What do I do wrong?

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Problem with scanning negatives at 16bit per channel

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Wed Jan 29, 2014 11:04 am

Dear customer,

You probably have selected one of the 16/32/48/64 bit HDR(i) outputs.
These create HDR(i) archive files for later processing in SilverFast HDR (Studio).
These images are stored unprocessed.


kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

marcin wuu
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 8:54 pm
Scanner: Epson V700
SilverFast Product: SE

Re: Problem with scanning negatives at 16bit per channel

Postby marcin wuu » Wed Jan 29, 2014 11:34 am

Ob. I see. So how do I output 16bit image?

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Problem with scanning negatives at 16bit per channel

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Wed Feb 05, 2014 5:18 pm

16 bit output is only available in SilverFast Ai Studio.
There you can select normal 48 bit tiff, psd or jp2 output.

kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

photojoe
Visitor
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 1:05 am
Scanner: Pacific Image PrimeFilm XA
SilverFast Product: SE Plus

Re: Problem with scanning negatives at 16bit per channel

Postby photojoe » Thu Apr 24, 2014 12:27 am

Is this true for all scanners? The $70 upgrade SilverFast SE plus can't write a 16/bit per channel .tif?

The free software that came with my scanner (PIE) can though. That's pretty frustrating.

-J

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Problem with scanning negatives at 16bit per channel

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Fri Apr 25, 2014 1:15 pm

Yes, only SilverFast Ai Studio contains this output option.
The Simple Editions do not contain it because you need professional software to open and view these files.
(e.g. SilverFast HDR Studio or Photoshop CC)


Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

photojoe
Visitor
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 1:05 am
Scanner: Pacific Image PrimeFilm XA
SilverFast Product: SE Plus

Re: Problem with scanning negatives at 16bit per channel

Postby photojoe » Fri Apr 25, 2014 1:55 pm

I wasn't under the impression that $119 for the plus version was 'simple'. That's about what Adobe Lightroom costs. And I do have Photoshop CC & Lightroom CC and use 16 bit files all the time.

I like silverfast, but I really want 16 bit scanning So I basically can't make much use of it.

oxonet
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 10:29 pm
Scanner: epson V700
SilverFast Product: SE

Re: Problem with scanning negatives at 16bit per channel

Postby oxonet » Thu Oct 02, 2014 10:43 pm

Hello,

i just have the same problem: only 8 bits with the version 8 SE provided ... i think silverfast lives on an old planet where 16 bits scans are only for very expansive softwares like it was ... 10 years ago !!

i bought a V700 + silverfast 8 SE ... to do 8 bits scans !! great !

Christophe

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Problem with scanning negatives at 16bit per channel

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Tue Oct 07, 2014 8:53 am

Dear Christophe,

The SE does not offer 48 bit output because this can not be processed or shown by many applications.
Therefor it is only included in our professional Ai Studio version.

Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

jakobsk
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 4:51 pm
Scanner: 7600i
SilverFast Product: SE Plus

Re: Problem with scanning negatives at 16bit per channel

Postby jakobsk » Mon Dec 08, 2014 4:53 pm

I have the silverfast 8 SE. I bought this and my plustek scanner just to scan my old photos. OK I can live with you not providing me with 16 bit scans. But I don't see any 8 bit color options?? How do I scan and export my photos in color?

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Problem with scanning negatives at 16bit per channel

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Mon Dec 15, 2014 5:22 pm

Dear customer,

The option is called 48 -> 24 Bit.
(As in 8 Bit per color channel.)

Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn


Return to “Epson”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest