Outputing Infra-red channel separately

flatbed scanners for Epson

ashreid20
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 12:14 pm
Scanner: epson v850
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Outputing Infra-red channel separately

Postby ashreid20 » Tue Sep 08, 2015 12:21 pm

Hi,

I have a specific task that would be made easier if I could scan and output separately the the infra-red channel from a negative scan.

Is there any way of doing this?

scanner - Epson V850 w/ silverfast Ai Studio and/or Silverfast HDR.

thankyou!

A

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Outputing Infra-red channel separately

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Tue Sep 08, 2015 3:59 pm

Dear customer,

The 64 Bit HDRi includes the infrared channel as a separate layer.
You only need an image editor, that can handle multi-layer tif files.
Photoshop can not do that but the free GIMP software does.

Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

User avatar
Jossie
SilverFast User
SilverFast User
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 4:39 pm
Scanner: Reflecta DigitDia 6000
SilverFast Product: Archive Suite
Location: im Kraichgau

Re: Outputing Infra-red channel separately

Postby Jossie » Sat Sep 12, 2015 9:09 am

Good morning,

GIMP can only handle 8bit-data. The exported IR-channel is saved as a 2x8bit image, where only the first layer does contain the 8-bit IR information. Also IrfanView extracts only the IR-channel in 8bit-format.

To utilize the full 16bit-information, one has to extract the IR-channel e.g. with imageJ (http://imagej.nih.gov/ij/) and bio-formats Import(http://www.openmicroscopy.org/site/support/bio-formats5.1/users/imagej/) or with imagemagick (http://www.imagemagick.org/script/index.php).

Hermann-Josef Röser


Return to “Epson”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest