Epson v800, iSRD & slide tray height adjustment

flatbed scanners for Epson

geronimo1958
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2016 12:30 am
SilverFast Product: SE

Epson v800, iSRD & slide tray height adjustment

Postby geronimo1958 » Thu Sep 08, 2016 4:16 pm

Over the last couple of days I have been experimenting with my new Epson v800 and SilverFast SE 8.

I read somewhere (cannot find where now) that the slide tray height adjustment needs to be at its lowest position to get the best results from iSRD. Is this true (since I cannot confirm what I read)?

On a side note the literature indicates iSRD has trouble with Kodachrome slides. If the slide is Kodachrome will that be indicated on the slide frame? Otherwise how would one know?

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4265
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Epson v800, iSRD & slide tray height adjustment

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Mon Sep 12, 2016 4:57 pm

Dear customer,

The hight of the holder should be set in a way, that it gives the sharpest results.
So far we have found few occasions where it was necessary to set it to a setting other than the standard hight.

Certain Kodachrome emulsions are very dense and partially or totally block the scanners infrared channel. This can result in wrong areas being corrected or artifacts in the image.
Most often Kodachrome slides can be identified by their paper frame.

Kind regards,
Arne.

geronimo1958
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2016 12:30 am
SilverFast Product: SE

Re: Epson v800, iSRD & slide tray height adjustment

Postby geronimo1958 » Tue Sep 13, 2016 4:12 am

What is standard height? I thought I had read that it should be in the next to the lowest. I did run a few tests and found no perceptible difference in focus between settings. Thanks for the info on Kodachrome slides.

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4265
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Epson v800, iSRD & slide tray height adjustment

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Tue Sep 13, 2016 4:52 pm

Yes it is one above the lowest. It has a triangular marking instead of a rectangular one.

Kind regards,
Arne


Return to “Epson”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests