Epson 4990 Ai 6.4.1.r3 serious problem scanning 6x6cm

flatbed scanners for Epson

Vidox
Visitor
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 11:05 am

Epson 4990 Ai 6.4.1.r3 serious problem scanning 6x6cm

Postby Vidox » Fri Mar 11, 2005 7:23 pm

Y want to scan appr. 1000 6x6 B&W negs. with Ai 6.4.1r3.
Every time I try to scan via Twain or the Sf app. i receive the message CANNOT SET COMMAND "SET WINDOW" after the 5th or 6th frame.
This happens both in batch scanning and scanning frame by frame from an application.

- The latest Epson scan twain module and scan app. are working perfect.
- All other USB devices are disconnected, (Ai seems to dislike any competition on the USB bus :wink: )

If this problem occurs you have to reboot the system otherwise you will get very unpleasant surprises with your host apps., in my case ignoring the IMATCH file-name format and thus at random overwriting other images :evil: (pfff lucky me to have a recent backup :lol: )

User avatar
LSI_Bruhn
SilverFast Expert
SilverFast Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2003 7:29 pm
Location: Kiel
Contact:

Postby LSI_Bruhn » Mon Mar 14, 2005 11:06 am

Dear Vidox,

could send your request to :

http://www.silverfast.com/problemreport/en.html, please.

kind regards
Sascha Bruhn

LaserSoft Imaging AG
Luisenweg 6-8
24105 Kiel

Vidox
Visitor
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 11:05 am

Postby Vidox » Mon Mar 14, 2005 12:20 pm

Yes, i did [Ticket#: 2005030710000329]
I received a e-mail from S?nke Noack
this morning that he transferred this case to the testing department.

thanks for your response, we just have to give them some time to perform the tests.

User avatar
LSI_Bruhn
SilverFast Expert
SilverFast Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2003 7:29 pm
Location: Kiel
Contact:

Postby LSI_Bruhn » Mon Mar 14, 2005 12:24 pm

Dear Vidox,

ok fine, so you should get an answer soon - if there is still a problem or it takes longer just drop me line and I will try to take care of your case.

kind regards
Sascha Bruhn

LaserSoft Imaging AG
Luisenweg 6-8
24105 Kiel

Vidox
Visitor
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 11:05 am

Postby Vidox » Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:05 pm

Dear Sascha,

Up till now Y haven't heard anything from LSI support about this problem.
Difficult problem?

Vidox

User avatar
LSI_Bruhn
SilverFast Expert
SilverFast Expert
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2003 7:29 pm
Location: Kiel
Contact:

Postby LSI_Bruhn » Mon Apr 04, 2005 7:42 am

Dear vidox,

I will check our support cases for your request.

kind regards
Sascha Bruhn

LaserSoft Imaging AG
Luisenweg 6-8
24105 Kiel

hannibalstgt2
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 11:56 am

Re: Epson 4990 Ai 6.4.1.r3 serious problem scanning 6x6cm

Postby hannibalstgt2 » Tue Apr 19, 2005 12:08 pm

Vidox wrote:Every time I try to scan via Twain or the Sf app. i receive the message CANNOT SET COMMAND "SET WINDOW" after the 5th or 6th frame.


Hello,

I have reported the same problem already a few weeks ago.
I got no solution although my ticket was closed by Silverfast (S?nke Noak).

I figured out, that this happens, if the file generated during scanning
gets greater than about 98 MB.
If I reduce the image size (I scan film strips 195x9 mm)
or reduce the resolution (I need 3800 dpi, get 3200), Silverfast works fine, but this is no solution for me.

The problem seems to be a problem of the Epson 4990 Hardware which is not properly detected/handeled by the scanning software.
Very likely the hardware has not been adjusted to the larger scanning area the 4990 provides compared to the 4870.

A little bit of a solution provides Epson Scan. Epson Scan seems to support a slightly larger scanning area if using "area selection".

Regards
Wolfgang

Vidox
Visitor
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 11:05 am

Postby Vidox » Tue Apr 19, 2005 2:13 pm

Wolfgang,

Y have had no solution either from LSI until now.
Y think the problem is the way Ai is handling XP memory.
Reducing the frame size is not a solution, during batch scanning the problem only arises one or two frames later.

Epson scan is working perfect in all kind of configurations, including 8 USB2 and FireWire devices, WebCam, Video, DC etc.

Disconnecting these devices(and removing the drivers!!) and reducing frame size, one by one and thus reducing the use of memory seems to have a positive effect on Sf Ai, but this is only a mather of time before running into serious problems again.

Vidox

hannibalstgt
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 6:38 pm
Location: Stuttgart - Germany
Contact:

Postby hannibalstgt » Wed Apr 20, 2005 8:19 am

Vidox wrote:Wolfgang,
Disconnecting these devices(and removing the drivers!!) and reducing frame size, one by one and thus reducing the use of memory seems to have a positive effect on Sf Ai, but this is only a matter of time before running into serious problems again.


Hello,

I run only the Silverfast SE Version as provided with the scanner. That fulfills all the needs I have, and I have only the Epson Scanner at my Adaptec USB 2.0 card. All other devices (mouse, 6in1 Card Reader) are at the USB 1.1 port of the motherboard. And I run Win2000 with 1Gb of main memory and an AMD Athlon processor 1.2 GHz (4 years old).
But:
the procedure you described seems to me also an indication, that memory is not handled efficiently. Probably it is not freed in time and gets not available on time for other threads. But that is speculation.
I hope the LaserSoft developers get a solution soon. At least they should present a message, that SF is probably running out of available memory (resulting file too big or something similar).

Regards
Wolfgang

Vidox
Visitor
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 11:05 am

Postby Vidox » Tue May 10, 2005 11:52 am

LSI_Bruhn wrote:Dear vidox,

I will check our support cases for your request.

kind regards


Dear Sacha,

This was the 4th of april
It is now the 10th of mai, do you expect any solution/answer coming up soon?

Vidox

User avatar
LSI_Noack
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:30 pm
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Postby LSI_Noack » Tue May 17, 2005 1:41 pm

Dear Vidox

I regret that your ticket hasn't been resolved meanwhile and assigned it highest priority level.

Finest regards
Sonny Noack
- tech support, LSI AG -

User avatar
LSI_Noack
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:30 pm
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Postby LSI_Noack » Thu Jun 02, 2005 1:54 pm

Dear Vidox

unfortunately the problem couldn't be reproduced in our testing center.
I have contacted you with some more information in resolution of your ticket by email.

Kind regards
Sonny Noack
- tech support, LSI AG -


Return to “Epson”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest